The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Question Dropped 3rd Strike Rule

- Bases are loaded.
- There are two outs.
At this point I am assuming the dropped third strike rule is possible to come into play.

- Batter swings and misses for strike 3 but the ball was not caught by the catcher and goes to the backstop.
- Rather than try and make the throw to 1st the catcher grabs the ball and steps on the plate before the runner from 3rd makes it home.

I've never seen it but wondered if the catcher can record an out in this manner.

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 325
I wonder what took R3 so long getting there on a two-strike count with the batter swinging!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 08:11pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Yes, he can.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 08:24pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtopher_66
- Bases are loaded.
- There are two outs.
At this point I am assuming the dropped third strike rule is possible to come into play.

- Batter swings and misses for strike 3 but the ball was not caught by the catcher and goes to the backstop.
- Rather than try and make the throw to 1st the catcher grabs the ball and steps on the plate before the runner from 3rd makes it home.

I've never seen it but wondered if the catcher can record an out in this manner.

Thanks for your help
The bases are loaded and the batter becomes a batter-runner. Hence the runners are forced. Out at the plate.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2006, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Interesting story -

I'm only 19, so it wasn't too long ago that I was the catcher. I stepped on the plate one day with 2 strikes and a ball in the dirt. Umpire never called out. I turned around, looked right at him. I stomped my foot on the plate. Still nothing.

The batter/runner is now sprinting to first. I say "is he out". The guy said nothing. I quickly stepped out in front and threw to first, thank god the throw was accurate, otherwise I was gonna be pissed.

Next time we had that ump, I knew it was him. Same situation. This time I immediatly stepped out in front of the plate, stepping on the plate as I crossed it. He yelled "Out".



Felt good to teach an umpire something without having to argue about it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
History of dropped third strike rule spillguy Baseball 8 Tue Sep 06, 2005 07:42am
ASA rule on dropped third strike coolhand Softball 10 Sat May 28, 2005 01:19pm
Dropped Third Strike umpguy2190 Baseball 12 Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:56pm
dropped third strike kchamp Softball 5 Thu Feb 08, 2001 12:04pm
Federation Dropped Third Strike Rule Tsmokie Softball 2 Mon Mar 20, 2000 01:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1