![]() |
|
|||
Thought I knew this one, but now...I am confused.
If a runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, the runner shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. So, if R3 is making every effort to bend, twist, step out out of the way of the fielder...and somehow a twisting, windblown batted ball strikes R3....he is not out. But absent that type of effort, he is out? So just standing there like a statue is "intentional"....and ducking over, not even trying to follow the ball is "intentional"? Does this sound about right? Thanks! |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
runner nudged off base, then hit by batted ball | chuck chopper | Softball | 1 | Wed Oct 19, 2005 03:03pm |
Little League 9-10 yr old - Base runner hit by batted ball... Do runners advance? | mike miles | Baseball | 2 | Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:46am |
Base Runner Hit With Batted Ball - ASA | chiquita | Softball | 5 | Thu Jun 30, 2005 08:28am |
ball batted twice | coreyboy | Softball | 3 | Wed Jun 11, 2003 09:56am |
Runner hit with batted ball while ON a base. | walkerbard | Softball | 7 | Tue Jun 04, 2002 08:03am |