The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Player on base gets hit with batted ball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26259-player-base-gets-hit-batted-ball.html)

tmp44 Wed Apr 26, 2006 11:57pm

Player on base gets hit with batted ball
 
Came up in my association meeting tonight. 2nd and 3rd, one out, infield is in normal positions. BR hits a high pop fly on the 3rd base line. R3 remains on the bag, and the ball is settling under him. The pop-up comes down and lands right on R3's head, who is still on the bag. What do you have?

BTW...umpire called R3 out for getting hit with a live ball.

BigUmp56 Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:09am

The runner is not afforded protection from interference by being hit with a batted ball while in contact with a base except for the IFF. Now, had the fielder contacted the runner as he was attempting to make the play, absent an intentional act to committ interference the runner would be protected.


From the MLBUM

6.5 RUNNER INTERFERES WHILE IN CONTACT WITH BASE

If a runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, the runner shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out.

See Casebook Comments to Official Baseball Rule 7.08(b).



Tim.

LakeErieUmp Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:17am

You also have a runner who should have pressed his foot against the outside of the bag and kept the rest of himself in foul territory!
There is a reason coaches attend rules meetings as well (FED) and should know the book inside and out (every other level).

bossman72 Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:57am

What Tim said.

Also take into account if the ball has passed F5 or not.

irefky Thu Apr 27, 2006 06:10am

Take into consideration if B5 squares to bunt with R3 on third, F5 charges but the bunted ball sails over F5 in the air and then strikes R3 while standing on the base, is he out?

I guess this is what bossman was mentioning, R3 would be safe since ball pass the fielder, correct?

BigUmp56 Thu Apr 27, 2006 06:22am

I think it's going to be pretty hard to not transfer the protection to F6 on this play and call R3 out.


Tim.

bsk713 Thu Apr 27, 2006 06:40am

Player on base gets hit with batted ball.
 
I have the player out. Being in fair territory or in foul ground is the determining factor here, whether or not they are touching the base. Infield Fly, batter is out, then the player is protected, as runners advance at their own risk.
I think once it passes an infielder, the runner is protected. I don't believe it has to pass all infielders.

LMan Thu Apr 27, 2006 07:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by irefky
Take into consideration if B5 squares to bunt with R3 on third, F5 charges but the bunted ball sails over F5 in the air and then strikes R3 while standing on the base, is he out?

I guess this is what bossman was mentioning, R3 would be safe since ball pass the fielder, correct?

did another fielder have a play on the ball?

irefky Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:07am

a. yes, F6 came over to field the ball in front of R3

b. no

cmcramer Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:52am

Thought I knew this one, but now...I am confused.


If a runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, the runner shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional.

So, if R3 is making every effort to bend, twist, step out out of the way of the fielder...and somehow a twisting, windblown batted ball strikes R3....he is not out.

But absent that type of effort, he is out?

So just standing there like a statue is "intentional"....and ducking over, not even trying to follow the ball is "intentional"?

Does this sound about right?

Thanks!

bob jenkins Thu Apr 27, 2006 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmcramer
Thought I knew this one, but now...I am confused.


If a runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, the runner shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional.

So, if R3 is making every effort to bend, twist, step out out of the way of the fielder...and somehow a twisting, windblown batted ball strikes R3....he is not out.

But absent that type of effort, he is out?

So just standing there like a statue is "intentional"....and ducking over, not even trying to follow the ball is "intentional"?

Does this sound about right?

Thanks!

Not correct.

As always, there's a difference between "interfering" with the ball and "interfering" with the fielder.

Unless it's an infield fly, the base is never protection from "interfering" with the ball..

The base is protection from "interfering" with the fielder, unless it's intentional.

cmcramer Thu Apr 27, 2006 02:38pm

Got it now.

Thank you, Bob!

blueump Fri Apr 28, 2006 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsk713
Being in fair territory or in foul ground is the determining factor here, whether or not they are touching the base.

Shouldn't that be, "the ball being in fair territory or in foul ground is the determining factor..."

You can have a kid with his left foot squarely on the bag at 3rd, and the ball still hit him on the head in foul territory. This player is not out. The determining factor should be where the ball was when it hit the player, not where the player was!

bsk713 Wed Nov 21, 2007 12:55am

YES, I concur. The ball is the determining factor, and if the player is in foul territory and the ball hits them there, they are ok. And if the player is hit in fair territory, they are out.

ozzy6900 Wed Nov 21, 2007 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmp44
Came up in my association meeting tonight. 2nd and 3rd, one out, infield is in normal positions. BR hits a high pop fly on the 3rd base line. R3 remains on the bag, and the ball is settling under him. The pop-up comes down and lands right on R3's head, who is still on the bag. What do you have?

BTW...umpire called R3 out for getting hit with a live ball.

R3 is out - give the umpire a cigar!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1