The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
The runner is not afforded protection from interference by being hit with a batted ball while in contact with a base except for the IFF. Now, had the fielder contacted the runner as he was attempting to make the play, absent an intentional act to committ interference the runner would be protected.


From the MLBUM

6.5 RUNNER INTERFERES WHILE IN CONTACT WITH BASE

If a runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, the runner shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out.

See Casebook Comments to Official Baseball Rule 7.08(b).



Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 12:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 325
You also have a runner who should have pressed his foot against the outside of the bag and kept the rest of himself in foul territory!
There is a reason coaches attend rules meetings as well (FED) and should know the book inside and out (every other level).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 12:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
What Tim said.

Also take into account if the ball has passed F5 or not.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 06:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 260
Take into consideration if B5 squares to bunt with R3 on third, F5 charges but the bunted ball sails over F5 in the air and then strikes R3 while standing on the base, is he out?

I guess this is what bossman was mentioning, R3 would be safe since ball pass the fielder, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 06:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
I think it's going to be pretty hard to not transfer the protection to F6 on this play and call R3 out.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by irefky
Take into consideration if B5 squares to bunt with R3 on third, F5 charges but the bunted ball sails over F5 in the air and then strikes R3 while standing on the base, is he out?

I guess this is what bossman was mentioning, R3 would be safe since ball pass the fielder, correct?
did another fielder have a play on the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 260
a. yes, F6 came over to field the ball in front of R3

b. no
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 54
Thought I knew this one, but now...I am confused.


If a runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, the runner shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional.

So, if R3 is making every effort to bend, twist, step out out of the way of the fielder...and somehow a twisting, windblown batted ball strikes R3....he is not out.

But absent that type of effort, he is out?

So just standing there like a statue is "intentional"....and ducking over, not even trying to follow the ball is "intentional"?

Does this sound about right?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
runner nudged off base, then hit by batted ball chuck chopper Softball 1 Wed Oct 19, 2005 03:03pm
Little League 9-10 yr old - Base runner hit by batted ball... Do runners advance? mike miles Baseball 2 Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:46am
Base Runner Hit With Batted Ball - ASA chiquita Softball 5 Thu Jun 30, 2005 08:28am
ball batted twice coreyboy Softball 3 Wed Jun 11, 2003 09:56am
Runner hit with batted ball while ON a base. walkerbard Softball 7 Tue Jun 04, 2002 08:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1