The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Apr 18, 2006, 11:50am
Official Forum Member

i have a couple of questions for those who want to argue.

1) have you ever seen a Fork ball in the show called a strike without someone swinging? I'll tell you right now some of those are Strikes per rule. NEVER EVER Called a Strike.

2) What about the curveball in? The one at the batter, that the batter flinches or in some funny cases hits the dirt, but the catcher catches clean on the inside. I think Roy Halliday and may others might be out of a job if this is not a strike.

3) Also remember this is about the close pitches - the either way pitches. Out of curiousity, are you the same guys who on a stolen base pitch that is taken all the way will call a close pitch a ball?? Just curious.

On a side note, If I was a coach I'd take a Great Catcher and an OK pitcher before a Great Pitcher and an OK catcher. One of my favorite stories from an Ex- MiLB ump, was about Gregg Zaun. He would catch every ball (he could) bring it to his chest and throw the ball back to the pitch in one fluid movement. He didn't let anyone get an idea where the ball was up, down, in, out. Every pitch ended up hitting his chest. The umpire simply called the pitch. No *****ing about anything. I think the plate grows a bit in this instance, what do you think?
Old Tue Apr 18, 2006, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to nickrego
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh

3) Also remember this is about the close pitches - the either way pitches. Out of curiosity, are you the same guys who on a stolen base pitch that is taken all the way will call a close pitch a ball?? Just curious.
A close pitch on an attempted stolen base that is taken is ALWAYS a strike, unless it's caught really ugly by the catcher.

Why ?