The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 10, 2006, 09:06pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
There are 4 bases so their could be 4 consectutive appeals on one runner. The question at hand, is does a runner have to retouch on his way back to a base left early and if not is he subject to appeal for missing the retouched base?

The coach thought he left early and called him back, and he made it back. After touching home and moving towards the dugout for example, can he run directly back to 3B without retouching home?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 10, 2006, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Enough!


1) He has to retouch home on the way back.

2) Yes, you can appeal at home after failing the appeal at third - provided it is before the next pitch or play.

3) If the runner did NOT leave early, then the run has scored and it can't be unscored. Umpire has to fix this.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 10, 2006, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
1) He has to retouch home on the way back.

Or on his "last Time By"

Example:

R1 off with the pitch, B1 hits ball to F8. R1 is between 2nd and 3rd base when F8 makes the catch. R1 Retreats and MISSES second base on his way back to first base. F8 in trying to Double up R1 throws over F3's head into DBT. R1 in accepting his awards touches second base.

Can The defense appeal that R1 missed second base on his way back to first.

Answer: The defense can appeal but it would be denied on the concept of "last time by".

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 17, 2006, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
My question was whether the defensive team could appeal more than one bag. After they appealed 3rd I was wondering if they could have legally appealed home. I received my answer and I thank everyone who chimed in.

When they appealed 3rd base, our umpire indicated safe and yelled play ball (which made everyone infer there was no additional appeal available). I asked the ump (after the game) if they still had the appeal at home and he did not provide a very clear answer (which is why I created this thread).

Thanks to all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accidental appeal and mechanics question. Illini_Ref Baseball 48 Mon Mar 07, 2005 05:14pm
Appeal question CDcoach Baseball 15 Mon Jun 14, 2004 09:51pm
Appeal WinterWillie Softball 15 Mon May 10, 2004 10:26am
Appeal mach3 Softball 7 Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:30am
appeal question bethsdad Softball 5 Sat Jan 10, 2004 09:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1