![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
This is why I think the FED casebook play is misguided ... well ... completely incorrect! The FED ruling indicates that when the pitcher is making a second play, it matters as to whether his foot happens to still be touching the pitching rubber. Although I can think of nothing in writing to back up my belief that this is not true, I do have my many years of experience telling me that there isn't an umpire in the world that would ever award R1 only one-base after the pitcher has faked to 3rd and thrown wildly to 1st, regardless of whether his pivot foot happened to be in contact with the rubber or not. But, I guess I'm going to have to start looking for that ... as per FED 6.1.5. Oddly enough, this casebook play comes under the heading PITCHER AS AN INFIELDER. I think the rulesmakers got this one wrong. David Emerling Memphis, TN |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Most Unusual Move You Ever Saw | JCrow | Basketball | 12 | Tue Jan 03, 2006 08:31am |
Move Up? | Hartsy | Basketball | 30 | Fri Jul 29, 2005 08:54pm |
I said move! | ChrisSportsFan | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:55am |
Move up? | refjef40 | Softball | 7 | Tue Apr 01, 2003 05:38pm |
Inappropiate Move by Ref? | lee7545 | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 03, 2002 07:30pm |