The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 14, 2001, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally posted by Michael Taylor
I agree but the original post said he was in the set position off the rubber and had never been on the rubber at all. I took this to mean he was actually set not just in a stretch position. Just straddling the the pitching plate is nothing but going to a full set is. IMO
The set position can have two meanings:

1) The pitcher, while on the rubber, having his arms at his side would be the set position.

2) The pitcher, while on the rubber, bringing his arms together to come set would also be the set position.

You can't be in a set position off the rubber. You can only simulate the set position. If he is just stading there off the rubber, no balk. However, if he makes any movement associated with the set position while off the rubber(such as bringing his arms together to come set) than you have a balk.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1