[QUOTE]Originally posted by PeteBooth
[B] Originally posted by gold067
Pitcher in the set position however pivot foot is behind the rubber. Pitcher throws to first without stepping. Balk or no balk? Pitcher never toed the rubber.
FED rule 6-1-3
After F1 has placed his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the plate, he then has the right to throw or feint to a base the same as that of any other infielder.
OBR equivalent 8.01(e)
Therefore, in your thread we do not have a Balk.
__________________________________________________ __________
I always see pitchers do the following:
Pitcher in set position. Lifts his pivot in the air in a movement back and completely off the mound. He throws the ball towards first as his foot is in the air in the process of disengaging. I guess theoretically this would be a balk because at the time of the throw his foot is still in the air but I have never seen an umpire call this. Would you call it a balk?
|