Quote:
Originally posted by Gre144
I always see pitchers do the following:
Pitcher in set position. Lifts his pivot in the air in a movement back and completely off the mound. He throws the ball towards first as his foot is in the air in the process of disengaging. I guess theoretically this would be a balk because at the time of the throw his foot is still in the air but I have never seen an umpire call this. Would you call it a balk?
|
The pivot foot must be on the ground before the ball is released on the throw. If you clearly see the throw first, balk it. IF you're unsure (a) don't balk it, or (b) balk it if it's close and the pitcher won't make it close anymore. correct answer depends on umpire, level of game, amount af "abuse" willing to take on first call vs. amount of "whining" willing to put up with if call isn't made, etc.