The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 01:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 279
Helping the runner to his feet is DEFINITELY textbook coach's interference. No if's and's or but's.


My answer is still C, regardless of whether or not he was awarded home. Coach's interference = out, no matter how you slice it.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
If the Big Popi has played the field, not even well, just played, he would have won the award hands down. He was definitely more clutch and more feared last season, even if A-Rod put up similar numbers.

But Ortiz also got to sit on the bench while A-Rod played the field every have inning. A-Rod played third very well. There is a huge difference between playing a full game 162 times a year and only having to bat three of four times a game.

Clutch hitting is great, but you gotta contribute on the other side. That's why no DH has won the MVP.
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally posted by largeone59
Helping the runner to his feet is DEFINITELY textbook coach's interference. No if's and's or but's.


My answer is still C, regardless of whether or not he was awarded home. Coach's interference = out, no matter how you slice it.

Largeone,


Let me ask you another "what if." Let's say that R2 is obstructed right as he reaches the bag. The obstruction is severe enough(non-malicious)to cause the trip over the bag and subsequent fall. The base coach helps the runner to his feet, but does not push him toward home. No play is made on R2, and R2 simply returns to the third base bag. Would you still call R2 out for the coaches interference? He's gained no advantage.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally posted by largeone59
Helping the runner to his feet is DEFINITELY textbook coach's interference. No if's and's or but's.


My answer is still C, regardless of whether or not he was awarded home. Coach's interference = out, no matter how you slice it.

Largeone,


Let me ask you another "what if." Let's say that R2 is obstructed right as he reaches the bag. The obstruction is severe enough(non-malicious)to cause the trip over the bag and subsequent fall. The base coach helps the runner to his feet, but does not push him toward home. No play is made on R2, and R2 simply returns to the third base bag. Would you still call R2 out for the coaches interference? He's gained no advantage.


Tim.
The obstruction caused R2 to fall -- it didn't cause the coach to assist the runner. Call the out.

Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
O.K. Bob,

I can accept that. What should be done if R2 remains on the ground, and is played on and tagged before returning. If, you judge that third is his advance base on the obstructon?

Tim.

[Edited by BigUmp56 on Nov 30th, 2005 at 09:14 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by BigUmp56
O.K. Bob,

I can accept that. What should be done if R2 remains on the ground, and is played on and tagged before returning. If, you judge that third is his advance base on the obstructon?

Tim.

[Edited by BigUmp56 on Nov 30th, 2005 at 09:14 AM]
The obstruction caused the fall. Nullify the effects of the obstruction -- that includes nullifying a tag out of the runner.

Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally posted by BigUmp56
O.K. Bob,

I can accept that. What should be done if R2 remains on the ground, and is played on and tagged before returning. If, you judge that third is his advance base on the obstructon?

Tim.

[Edited by BigUmp56 on Nov 30th, 2005 at 09:14 AM]

Tim, When obstuction occurs, don't think of the award as "what base i'm going to protect him to" but rather think of how much the obstruction slowed him up or hindered his progress and base your award on that. If the bump caused the runner to fall down, then by all means protect him back to third since the obstruction caused him to be tagged out. If you felt he would have been tagged out anyways regardless if he was obstructed or not, then call him out.


But regarding your coach's int play: bob pretty much answered everything for me. When you call this, don't weigh whether or not they gained an advantage by the coach's assistance. If the coach moves or stops a runner in any way, it's coach's int.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Kyle said....

One of the Board members, who wishes to remain anonymous, is a friend of Kyle McNeely's and emailed him for his ruling, copy to me for posting.

Here's the play again:
The runner from second is advancing on a hit when he is obstructed by the third baseman. The runner then trips over the third base and, as he rises, is pushed toward home by the head coach. The umpire will rule:
A. The obstruction balances out the interference. Let the play stand.
B. Penalize the obstruction since it occurred first.
C. Call the runner out after playing action is over.
D. Call the runner out and kill play immediately.
Here are Kyle's thoughts:
... only in baseball, right!! We have a case of obstruction followed by interference.

Basically, as officials, we deal with these in the order that they occur. Frankly, it will always be dealt with as obstruction followed by interference since most interference immediately kills the ball, so no obstruction can occur after the interference.

The only issue here is that with the coach's interference, the out is declared immediately (casebook 3.2.2b). The ball is not dead immediately but killed after playing action is over.

So, the answer is really one and two. R2 is out for the interference. That is not due to the obstruction, the coach made the decision to help the runner regardless of how R2 fell. His interference cannot be excused by the obstruction. After playing action is over, the ball is dead, and we return runners to the bases they had at the time of the interference. In this case, the batter-runner would be awarded first base.

Happy Holidays.

Kyle
Turns out, that's pretty much what Roland's notes said.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
So, the short version is "C".
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 03:23pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ManInBlue
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
Quote:
Originally posted by ManInBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:

But the runner was protected BY RULE to third, which he made safely. As Roland points out, there's not enough information to determine whether the runner should be protected by umpire judgment to home.

Thus, my final answer: C. When he made his protected base, he advanced at his own risk. During that advance, however short it was, the coach interfered. Delayed dead ball (allowing the defense to play on the batter-runner) followed by an out.
Let's assume for the sake of continuing this discussion, that the umpire instantly recognized a situation where the obstructed runner should be awarded home, no question about it, based on the 3B man's obstruction, position of the ball, etc. Shortly after making this decision, the runner trips on 3B and is helped to his feet by the 3B coach. What do we have now? I have my answer ready.
Is he helped to his feet, or helped in the direction of home? I see this as two seperate situations.

First, there is the obligation to run the bases correctly, even on an award. (Award 1B to 3B, missed 2B can get an out on appeal) Second, is the coach assisting him in running the bases?

Coach assistance - OUT. Coach just picks the kid up - Award home and keep playing. JMO
Is the coach assisting him running the bases by helping him to his feet? Are you kidding me?
No, I'm not, actually. Although I argue that the HR situation doesn't have enough similarities to this play to be used as comparison, in this case I will use it. The coach can pick a kid up that trips over a base while "being awarded" his four bases on a HR. That's legal, so I see the same type of situation unfolding in your hypothetical situation. Picking him up and helping him advance have been differentiated in the rules during the award.

So, no, I'm not kidding you. Please feel free to offer a rebuttal. You posted a hypothetical situation. I posted a question that could arise in the situation. I guess I could be playing the part of the Devil's Advocate here. But I see that the question has some relevence. Helping a runner to his feet HAS TO BE assiting the runner (JMHO), unless the ball is dead.

I mean no offense by the following statement, but...You seem to be a well versed official. You're responses that I've seen make valid points. I would hope that "Are you kidding me?" isn't the best reply to this that you have. I would expect more from someone like you. I would expect a thorough explaination of why you think this is such a ridiculous question. I'm sure I have just thoroughly pissed you off. So, I await the barrage that is coming.
In the HR case book play the ball was dead so there is no interference by the coach during a dead ball.

In subsequent cases the ball is live, and any time the coach at 3B helps a runner to his feet he is interfering, and an out should be recorded. Some posters here like to post erroneous postings just to get a rise
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
In the HR case book play the ball was dead so there is no interference by the coach during a dead ball.

So, playing devil;s advocate: Batter hits the ball over the center field fence. He rounds first and misses the bag. The first base coach reaches out and grabs him and pulls him back to touch the bag.

Whatcha got?
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
In the HR case book play the ball was dead so there is no interference by the coach during a dead ball.

So, playing devil;s advocate: Batter hits the ball over the center field fence. He rounds first and misses the bag. The first base coach reaches out and grabs him and pulls him back to touch the bag.

Whatcha got?
I got Mark McGwire. No interference. Score the run. Break the record.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
In the HR case book play the ball was dead so there is no interference by the coach during a dead ball.

So, playing devil;s advocate: Batter hits the ball over the center field fence. He rounds first and misses the bag. The first base coach reaches out and grabs him and pulls him back to touch the bag.

Whatcha got?
I got Mark McGwire. No interference. Score the run. Break the record.
Awwwww...you spoiled it.

I'm just trying to make the best of a "snow day." Six inches fell last night and the buses were predicted to run more than three hours late. Instead of delaying things, they cancelled school.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
In the HR case book play the ball was dead so there is no interference by the coach during a dead ball.

So, playing devil;s advocate: Batter hits the ball over the center field fence. He rounds first and misses the bag. The first base coach reaches out and grabs him and pulls him back to touch the bag.

Whatcha got?
Good question Mr. Benham. I have coaches interference here. The base coach has attempted to deprive the defense's opportunity to appeal. I might also be sending the base coach to the parking lot for coming on the field.

I wondered back in 1999 when Big Mac hit his record breaking home run and missed first base if coaches interference might have been called had it not been such a big play.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56

Darn you Carl! You beat me to the Big Mac analogy!

Tim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1