The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to akalsey Send a message via Yahoo to akalsey
In OBR, if a batter bunts the ball with one foot entirely outside the batter's box, the batter is out (OBR 6.06), but is the ball still live? Is it different OBR vs Fed? Please provide rules or casebook references.

I swear I've read something in a casebook that covers this, but now I can't find it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,224
Dead ball in OBR 5.09(d)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally posted by akalsey
In OBR, if a batter bunts the ball with one foot entirely outside the batter's box, the batter is out (OBR 6.06), but is the ball still live? Is it different OBR vs Fed? Please provide rules or casebook references.

I swear I've read something in a casebook that covers this, but now I can't find it.
Look under 7.3.2 and dead ball table in the middle of the rule book
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to akalsey Send a message via Yahoo to akalsey
Thanks guys. I knew I'd seen it somewhere but I couldn't come up with a reference when pressed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally posted by akalsey
In OBR, if a batter bunts the ball with one foot entirely outside the batter's box, the batter is out (OBR 6.06), but is the ball still live? Is it different OBR vs Fed? Please provide rules or casebook references.

I swear I've read something in a casebook that covers this, but now I can't find it.
Remember the foot not only needs to be entirely out of the batter's box, but it also must be on the ground at time of contact.

The exception is in FED where if the foot is touching the plate, the batter is out, whether or not it is completely out of the batter's box.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
The exception is in FED where if the foot is touching the plate, the batter is out, whether or not it is completely out of the batter's box.
And that exception is a great example of a gratuitous and just downright silly FED rule difference. With that exception, it is impossible to accurately draw the "legal" batter's box unless you know the particular batter's shoe size. Sheesh.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 06:39pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
The exception is in FED where if the foot is touching the plate, the batter is out, whether or not it is completely out of the batter's box.
And that exception is a great example of a gratuitous and just downright silly FED rule difference. With that exception, it is impossible to accurately draw the "legal" batter's box unless you know the particular batter's shoe size. Sheesh.
The batter's box is the batter's box. Shoe size is irrelevant.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2005, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
The batter's box is the batter's box. Shoe size is irrelevant.
So you're saying size doesn't matter?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 07:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
And that exception is a great example of a gratuitous and just downright silly FED rule difference.
It's also the NCAA rule.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
And that exception is a great example of a gratuitous and just downright silly FED rule difference.
It's also the NCAA rule.
And I'm sure FED and NCAA has reason they do not consider gratuitous. For one, what business does the batter have standing in the strike zone?
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
Having part of a foot touch the plate does not necessarily mean any other part of the body is in the strike zone.

Parts of the batters body enter the strike zone all the time swinging at outside pitches. What's your point?

It's a silly rule...

Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
And that exception is a great example of a gratuitous and just downright silly FED rule difference.
It's also the NCAA rule.
And I'm sure FED and NCAA has reason they do not consider gratuitous. For one, what business does the batter have standing in the strike zone?
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2005, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally posted by Kaliix
Having part of a foot touch the plate does not necessarily mean any other part of the body is in the strike zone.

Parts of the batters body enter the strike zone all the time swinging at outside pitches. What's your point?

It's a silly rule...

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Thank you for your input.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1