![]() |
|
|||
|
Re: Sorry Jim, but.....
Quote:
Try this one: Play:R3 retouches on a fly to right. At the moment the fly is touched in the outfield, the coach taps his runner on the helmet and says: "Go!" Ruling:The umpire will call out R3. This rule has gone through two cycles, only to wind up where it was 100 years ago! In the early days when the coach assisted the runner by getting in his way or touching him or patting him, it was considered interference. Then the interpretation changed, such that he actually had to "help" a runner leave or return to the base: Physical assistance, in other words. But we've come back to the original interpretation. That is, any physical contact by the coach that helps the runner is interference. Here's what you're confusing: A runner rounds third and crashes into his coach in the coaching box. That's nothing but an accident. Coach's interference with a runner must be intentional. But: A coach stations himself in such a way as to prevent the runner from heading for an out at the plate: That is clearly intentional and obviously interference. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|