Quote:
Originally posted by JEL
I do not consider holding the bat over the plate a strike unless there is a motion toward the ball
At least in FED, holding the bat over the plate is a strike as outlined in 2-8-1. This is different from softball in that the mere holding of the bat over the plate is not considered a strike.
|
2-8-1 simply defines a bunt as "holds the bat in the path of the ball". IMO, if you hold the bat in the path of the ball, the two will meet, and we will not have a question of whether he attempted or not. I think we still have to judge whether he attempted, even in FED.