The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 09, 2004, 04:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
Quote:
Originally posted by BayouUmp
OBR Rules. 2 out, R1. BR grounds to deep F6. Throw to 1B, (Bang-Bang) BR safe. Then BANG.....

R1 comes flying back to 1B, overruns it into the coaches box, then returns to the bag just as the BR is returning. Now I have 2 runners standing on 1st.

Don't know why R1 did this, but he did.

F3 tags R1 and is called out (by me). But.... not sure if that was the correct call.
IMO, BR is out for passing R1, when R1 overruns 1B and goes into batters box. He is essentially between 1B and home, and BR is beyond 1B.
Not the batter's box, the coach's box. ;o)

But what of the protection afforded the BR in reaching 1B? And why should the BR be out when it's clearly R1's stupidity that has continued to leave him naked and unprotected in a force situation? You can't blame the BR for this one, you've got to call the dork who's not paying attention out and make sure he sits down and gets ridiculed by his teammates. You can't punish the BR: he has no choice but to get to 1B, and that he did. It doesn't sound like he turned for 2B from the description.

-Craig
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1