The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,112
Re: IF/ fly ball

Quote:
Originally posted by quiggley94
now i asked that question a week ago and was told to tag up required a catch this is atleast mildly confusing. does the infeilder making contact"touching" the ball require a tag up or as it was explained to me only catching the ball.
If the ball is (eventually) caught, the runner can leave when it's first touched.

If the ball is not caught, runners need not tag up.

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 11:26am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Re: IF/ fly ball

Quote:
Originally posted by quiggley94

now i asked that question a week ago and was told to tag up required a catch this is atleast mildly confusing. does the infeilder making contact"touching" the ball require a tag up or as it was explained to me only catching the ball.
If the fielder looks like they are going to catch the ball chances are the runners are going to tag up anyway, but on those chances where there may be a hit and run, the runner does not need to tag up if the ball is not caught. So, if the runner advanced from 2B to 3B on a fly ball the fielder set up under it and touches but does not catch the ball the runner is not required to go back and tag up, only if caught and they must retouch every base in sequence on their way back to tag up.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Originally posted by greymule
a fair ball is a batted ball which: contacts fair ground on or beyond an imaginary line between first and third base

That's the Fed rule. OBR is different.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


How is OBR different?

OBR does not recognize any line between 1B and 3B. For example, if a popup lands halfway between the mound and 2B and then somehow spins foul untouched (between home plate and 1B or 3B), it's a foul ball. In Fed, it would be fair.

More likely is a ball that lands behind the 1B-3B line near 1B or 3B and then spins foul between home and 1B or 3B. Fair in Fed, foul in OBR.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to Patrick Szalapski
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
a fair ball is a batted ball which: contacts fair ground on or beyond an imaginary line between first and third base

That's the Fed rule. OBR is different.
How is OBR different?
OBR 2.00 "A FAIR BALL is a batted ball that...is on or over fair territory when bounding to the outfield past first or third base, or that first falls on fair territory on or beyond first base or third base."
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 01:02pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
a fair ball is a batted ball which: contacts fair ground on or beyond an imaginary line between first and third base

That's the Fed rule. OBR is different.
How is OBR different?
See 6 posts earlier, where I quoted from OBR - "or that first falls on fair territory on or beyond first or third base". If it falls fair beyond the bag it is fair no matter where it spins to.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
There seems to be some confusion regarding my last post, regarding the difference between Fed and OBR.

Of course it does not matter where the balls spins if it first lands in fair territory past 1B or 3B in OBR or past the imaginary line connecting 1B and 3B in Fed.

But if the ball first lands two feet fair and one foot before 1B or 3B, it is fair no matter where it spins in Fed, but in OBR it could still spin foul.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 335
So, if this happens in a FED game, we call IF and the batter will be out, whether or not the ball is touched.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
fly debate

The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball. MLB/ORB 2.00 infeild fly.

ok thats the answer i got before but the rule on statement dosenot mention catch. can anybody referance retouch/tag up rules to me.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 03:45pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
But if the ball first lands two feet fair and one foot before 1B or 3B, it is fair no matter where it spins in Fed, but in OBR it could still spin foul.
I learned something new today, I bet I get an earful the first time I get to call one this way in a FED game.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 05:27pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
There seems to be some confusion regarding my last post, regarding the difference between Fed and OBR.

Of course it does not matter where the balls spins if it first lands in fair territory past 1B or 3B in OBR or past the imaginary line connecting 1B and 3B in Fed.

But if the ball first lands two feet fair and one foot before 1B or 3B, it is fair no matter where it spins in Fed, but in OBR it could still spin foul.
I don't think the FED ruling is accurate. A ball that lands fair and spins foul before reaching 1B is foul, unless it landed beyond an imaginary line linking 1B to 3B. If it is 2 feet in front of the bag, then it can't be beyond an imaginar line linking 1B to 3B. The 1B to 3B line is Fed only.

There is no difference in FED and OBR on a ball that lands in fair territory beyond 1B or 3B. It is fair, regardless of where it spins.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 05:42pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
OK, I think I just unlearned something today....
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
If it is 2 feet in front of the bag, then it can't be beyond an imaginary line linking 1B to 3B.

My post specifies two feet fair and one foot in front of the bag. That would put it BEHIND, by a few inches, the imaginary line connecting 1B and 3B. That is a fair ball in Fed no matter where it spins.

__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1