View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 11:15am
quiggley94 quiggley94 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
IF/ fly ball

Quote:
Originally posted by w_sohl
The word "touched" is the correct word used here as runners can advance as soon as the ball is TOUCHED not caught. This is why the word touched is used instead of caught. For example, a fly ball to RF, the fielder sets up under the ball and as he touches it it hits the heel of his glove and bounces out but he stays with it and catches the ball before it comes in contact with the ground. As soon as the ball TOUCHED the fielders glove the runners are off and running leagally.
that is true but the rule book actually says tag up if touched, but if the ball is not caught that does not matter no tag up

The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball. MLB/ORB 2.00 infeild fly.

now i asked that question a week ago and was told to tag up required a catch this is atleast mildly confusing. does the infeilder making contact"touching" the ball require a tag up or as it was explained to me only catching the ball.
Reply With Quote