The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 10:33am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to wobster
I am a relatively new umpire. I have done mostly town league games to this point. I just got my certification to do 1/4 pint (9-11) and 1/2 pint (12+13). Better kids, more pressure, etc.

My question is this:
What do you guys suggest I do to make myself the best umpire I can be? I have read the rule book numerous times, so I know the rules. Are there any mechanics I should learn? I know the 2 man and 3 man field mechanics,etc, but I mean plate stance, position to make call, etc. I have been umpiring for 3 years for town league, but I am still unsure of my abilities.

Any advice you guys could give would be great!

Thanks,

Chad
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 10:40am
Official Forum Member

There is more to the rules than the rule book, so, if you can, get ahold of all the resources you can find. Three that are available for purchase are the "Baseball RUles Differences" available here and the "Rules of Baseball" (The Jaksa.Roder Manual or J/R) available at rulesofbaseball.com. The PBUC or Professional Baseball Umpirs Corp manual is available at pluspos.com (and maybe elsewhere).

Keep reading the message boards. Take the time to learn when, in a dispute, which persons are more likely to give the correect answer.
Old Fri May 14, 2004, 10:44am
Official Forum Member

Umpire!

Quote:
Originally posted by wobster
I am a relatively new umpire. I have done mostly town league games to this point. I just got my certification to do 1/4 pint (9-11) and 1/2 pint (12+13). Better kids, more pressure, etc.

My question is this: