The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 14, 2022, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 73
Count the run if INT

I am a softball umpire, which might be why I have this question about baseball.

One out, bases loaded, ground ball to shortstop. F6 steps on second for out #2;
then attempts to throw to first. The runner from first interferes with the throw and the INT is called.
Umpires convened.

Is baseball the same as softball, meaning the runner closest to home would be out?

In this case, in softball the runner from second to third would be out #3,
because the runner from third crossed the plate before the INT.
Why would the run not count?
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 14, 2022, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil4 View Post
I am a softball umpire, which might be why I have this question about baseball.

One out, bases loaded, ground ball to shortstop. F6 steps on second for out #2;
then attempts to throw to first. The runner from first interferes with the throw and the INT is called.
Umpires convened.

Is baseball the same as softball, meaning the runner closest to home would be out?

In this case, in softball the runner from second to third would be out #3,
because the runner from third crossed the plate before the INT.
Why would the run not count?
The first question would be what did R1 do to interfere? Continuing to advance and continuing to engage in a bona fide slide would not be interference. So we are left with an illegal slide or intentional swipe at the throw while in the basepath or abandoning his normal baserunning and somehow interfering with the throw while peeling off. We would call the B-R out and no run would score.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 16, 2022, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,022
Why would the run not count?

No run scores if the third out is made by a runner being forced to advance or by the BR before reaching 1st base safely.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 20, 2022, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Wouldn't the 3rd out be a force out, even if it is due to interference? If the lead runner is out, then no, but if it's the runner from 1st, then I believe so.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2022, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 73
The INT above was hands-raised, possibly protecting face. It was interference, rules cites not needed.
BUT, it was a retired runner, already out by the play at second (F6 steps on second for out #2.

In softball, interference by a retired runner is penalized by the active runner closest to home being out. The trailing runner, such as the BR is out of the INT is by an active runner.

Hence, my question about why the run did not count as the runner from third reached home before the INT. The runner closest to home at that point would be the runner from second.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 25, 2022, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil4 View Post
The INT above was hands-raised, possibly protecting face. It was interference, rules cites not needed.
BUT, it was a retired runner, already out by the play at second (F6 steps on second for out #2.

In softball, interference by a retired runner is penalized by the active runner closest to home being out. The trailing runner, such as the BR is out of the INT is by an active runner.

Hence, my question about why the run did not count as the runner from third reached home before the INT. The runner closest to home at that point would be the runner from second.
I don't do softball, but this sounds rediculous. It seems to give the offending team an advantage. In (HS) baseball, this would be a Force Play Slide Rule (FPSR) violation and an inning ending DP and no runs would score.
For any other INT by a retired player, the umps would have to determine who the D would have made a play on and that runner would be out. If they couldn't decide, the runner closest to HP would be out.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2022, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
I don't do softball, but this sounds rediculous. It seems to give the offending team an advantage. In (HS) baseball, this would be a Force Play Slide Rule (FPSR) violation and an inning ending DP and no runs would score.
For any other INT by a retired player, the umps would have to determine who the D would have made a play on and that runner would be out. If they couldn't decide, the runner closest to HP would be out.
I don't see how calling the runner closest to home out is and advantage to the offense. The mind reading part (in red) is unnecessary and hard to defend.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 18, 2022, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil4 View Post
I don't see how calling the runner closest to home out is and advantage to the offense. The mind reading part (in red) is unnecessary and hard to defend.
Maybe I misread the play. It seems in your situation a play was made on the BR. Therefore he would be out and no run would score due to being the third out before reaching first base safely.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What fouls count toward team foul count BigT Basketball 15 Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:13am
Does the run count??? EHLNOLA Baseball 22 Thu Jun 10, 2010 09:01am
A ten second five second count? Mark Padgett Basketball 34 Tue May 18, 2010 12:19pm
Does the run count? Illini_Ref Baseball 8 Tue May 18, 2010 08:36am
Would you count the run? greymule Softball 22 Sat Jan 10, 2004 09:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1