The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
In FED, the rule is very simple. Since a batter must have at least 1 foot in the box at all times, any time he leaves the box without permission, and the pitcher pitches, it is an automatic strike.
Holding the hand is a request for time, but the umpire is allowed to (not) grant it. If he does not, the batter must face a pitch.
The quoted rule support that in the A and the B. What does the C mean when it says "holds up hand to request time?" It doesn't say AND if A or B happens.

So if JUST C happens is it an automatic strike as it reads? Let's assume batter holds up hand to request time as pitcher is starting his motion and the pitcher continues with his motion and delivers the pitch.

Strike regardless of location?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,183
It shouldn't be an automatic strike. Oftentimes, the rule books, especially on the high school level, are badly written, and result in nonsense like calling a strike on a batter who has not left the box. If just C happens, I am calling the pitch based on where it is. Since the batter has not left the box, he should still be able to face the pitch, IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
It shouldn't be an automatic strike. Oftentimes, the rule books, especially on the high school level, are badly written, and result in nonsense like calling a strike on a batter who has not left the box. If just C happens, I am calling the pitch based on where it is. Since the batter has not left the box, he should still be able to face the pitch, IMO.
Wholeheartedly agree with your thinking. I'm wondering if NFHS has clarified what option C means as far as how we enforce this. If they don't mean to issue an automatic strike with JUST a raised hand then I'm not sure why they even included it since one or both feet out of the box would be enough.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Wholeheartedly agree with your thinking. I'm wondering if NFHS has clarified what option C means as far as how we enforce this. If they don't mean to issue an automatic strike with JUST a raised hand then I'm not sure why they even included it since one or both feet out of the box would be enough.
It's included so you don't balk a pitcher who stops his delivery due to a raised hand. I agree if it doesn't affect the pitcher we would just call the pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 90
My only issue with some of these threads "calling it how it is", is after the play is done, the coach comes out and cites the rule book. "It clearly states here that a strike is to be called". So am i supposed to say "it's badly written rule" ? A bad rule is still a rule, so if it is a clear statement of penalty (i.e. "A strike shall be called). NFHS only here. I would have a hard time arguing my case with a coach asking about what just happened....

But thats why i read all these forum posts Live and learn from the best.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
My only issue with some of these threads "calling it how it is", is after the play is done, the coach comes out and cites the rule book. "It clearly states here that a strike is to be called". So am i supposed to say "it's badly written rule" ? A bad rule is still a rule, so if it is a clear statement of penalty (i.e. "A strike shall be called). NFHS only here. I would have a hard time arguing my case with a coach asking about what just happened....

But thats why i read all these forum posts Live and learn from the best.
The NFHS
case play says "if a pitch is delivered a strike shall be called"
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The NFHS
case play says "if a pitch is delivered a strike shall be called"
That's how I read it yet many umpires disagree OR refuse to call it. I'll call it if it's the intent of the rule unless someone shows us an interp that says differently.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast pitch - batter "catches" the pitch Dakota Softball 16 Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:06am
Batter Steps Out of Box w/o Requesting Time... andrewm Baseball 10 Mon Jun 16, 2008 08:19pm
Runners requesting time BlitzkriegBob Softball 59 Mon Apr 30, 2007 09:32am
Batter hit by pitch?? Stair-Climber Softball 5 Sat Jun 17, 2006 06:53pm
Requesting a Time-Out after a made basket PGCougar Basketball 25 Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1