The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Here's the wording of 6-2-4 d (1).

1. If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request “Time,” it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “Time” and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of
7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live.


The last section of the wording SEEMS to indicate that if ANY of A, B, or C take place and the pitcher pitches it's an automatic strike. Case plays deal with requesting time and the batter stepping out.

Someone said elsewhere a clarification was put out regarding a batter requesting time but not stepping out - the "c" option.

So if a batter requests time, doesn't step out with either foot, and the pitch is legally delivered is it an automatic strike? Wording seems to say it is.
What rulebook is this? Without a specific reference (NFHS, LL, NCAA, OBR), a rules citation is meaningless (e.g. 3-3-1-l in the NFHS rulebook prohibits a player, coach, or team member from deliberately throwing equipment, but that rule does not exist in the NCAA rulebook or in OBR; instead, umpires use either common sense, other rules, or additional documents (the PBUC Umpire Standards For Ejection From the Game) to justify ejecting someone for throwing equipment). If NFHS, then the answer to all three options is "yes". In professional rules, the pitch is called a "ball" or "strike" as the case may be, unless the batter left the box and deliberately refused to return while the pitcher was ready to pitch. This situation is what led to the 1-pitch strikeout in a minor league baseball game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
What rulebook is this? Without a specific reference (NFHS, LL, NCAA, OBR), a rules citation is meaningless (e.g. 3-3-1-l in the NFHS rulebook prohibits a player, coach, or team member from deliberately throwing equipment, but that rule does not exist in the NCAA rulebook or in OBR; instead, umpires use either common sense, other rules, or additional documents (the PBUC Umpire Standards For Ejection From the Game) to justify ejecting someone for throwing equipment). If NFHS, then the answer to all three options is "yes". In professional rules, the pitch is called a "ball" or "strike" as the case may be, unless the batter left the box and deliberately refused to return while the pitcher was ready to pitch. This situation is what led to the 1-pitch strikeout in a minor league baseball game.
It's FED. The rule is cited. Since all three major books have different rule nomenclatures, there's no reason to need to specify--seeing the rule number would tell us which one it is.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,183
In FED, the rule is very simple. Since a batter must have at least 1 foot in the box at all times, any time he leaves the box without permission, and the pitcher pitches, it is an automatic strike.
Holding the hand is a request for time, but the umpire is allowed to (not) grant it. If he does not, the batter must face a pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
In FED, the rule is very simple. Since a batter must have at least 1 foot in the box at all times, any time he leaves the box without permission, and the pitcher pitches, it is an automatic strike.
Holding the hand is a request for time, but the umpire is allowed to (not) grant it. If he does not, the batter must face a pitch.
The quoted rule support that in the A and the B. What does the C mean when it says "holds up hand to request time?" It doesn't say AND if A or B happens.

So if JUST C happens is it an automatic strike as it reads? Let's assume batter holds up hand to request time as pitcher is starting his motion and the pitcher continues with his motion and delivers the pitch.

Strike regardless of location?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,183
It shouldn't be an automatic strike. Oftentimes, the rule books, especially on the high school level, are badly written, and result in nonsense like calling a strike on a batter who has not left the box. If just C happens, I am calling the pitch based on where it is. Since the batter has not left the box, he should still be able to face the pitch, IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
It shouldn't be an automatic strike. Oftentimes, the rule books, especially on the high school level, are badly written, and result in nonsense like calling a strike on a batter who has not left the box. If just C happens, I am calling the pitch based on where it is. Since the batter has not left the box, he should still be able to face the pitch, IMO.
Wholeheartedly agree with your thinking. I'm wondering if NFHS has clarified what option C means as far as how we enforce this. If they don't mean to issue an automatic strike with JUST a raised hand then I'm not sure why they even included it since one or both feet out of the box would be enough.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Wholeheartedly agree with your thinking. I'm wondering if NFHS has clarified what option C means as far as how we enforce this. If they don't mean to issue an automatic strike with JUST a raised hand then I'm not sure why they even included it since one or both feet out of the box would be enough.
It's included so you don't balk a pitcher who stops his delivery due to a raised hand. I agree if it doesn't affect the pitcher we would just call the pitch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast pitch - batter "catches" the pitch Dakota Softball 16 Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:06am
Batter Steps Out of Box w/o Requesting Time... andrewm Baseball 10 Mon Jun 16, 2008 08:19pm
Runners requesting time BlitzkriegBob Softball 59 Mon Apr 30, 2007 09:32am
Batter hit by pitch?? Stair-Climber Softball 5 Sat Jun 17, 2006 06:53pm
Requesting a Time-Out after a made basket PGCougar Basketball 25 Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1