The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Balk??

Scenario: Runner on 1st and 3rd with a Right handed Pitcher in the set position. As the Pitcher is ready to come to the plate, runner on 1st takes off... the pitcher then does the spin mode where he kicks his leg and left knee points toward 2nd and stops his delivery to try to get the runner going to 2nd...wouldn't this be a Balk? I heard different answers to this but not any clarity. I always believed you cannot throw to an unoccupied base but someone said they heard as long as the pitcher is making a play he can do this...I thought he would have to step off the pitchers plate in order to make a play on this runner and not be in motion in his delivery to the plate then all of a sudden do the typical "spin move" as if there was someone on 2nd Base leading off. Any help???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umonblue View Post
I always believed you cannot throw to an unoccupied base but someone said they heard as long as the pitcher is making a play he can do this
"someone" is right.

I'm having trouble following the rest of your description, but if the move would have been legal with an R2, then it's legal with an R1 attempting to advance (and, in FED, even if R1 is feinting an advance the move is legal. OBR does not contain those words, the effect is the same at all the levels we do).

That said, it's very difficult for a pitcher to change his mind mid-stream without balking.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Balk?

So as the right handed pitcher who's in a stretched position is getting ready to throw to the batter lifts his left leg (as if he is going to deliver the pitch to the batter) then spins toward 2nd to throw (essentially stops his motion) because the runner from 1st Base was going... this is legal?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:47am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 410
Look at the Comment to Rule 5.07(a)(1):
From the Windup Position, the pitcher may:
(A) deliver the ball to the batter, or
(B) step and throw to a base in an attempt to pick-off a runner, or
(C) disengage the rubber (if he does he must drop his hand to his sides).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umonblue View Post
So as the right handed pitcher who's in a stretched position is getting ready to throw to the batter lifts his left leg (as if he is going to deliver the pitch to the batter) then spins toward 2nd to throw (essentially stops his motion) because the runner from 1st Base was going... this is legal?
So as the right handed pitcher who's in a stretched position notices R2 taking a large leadi lifts his left leg then spins toward 2nd to throw, this is legal?

(And, to be clear, the answer is YES in both cases).

I'm not sure what you are trying to convey by lifts his leg as if he is going to deliver a pitch" -- how that is separated from "lifts his leg as if he is going to throw to second",

And, I am not sure what you are trying to convey by "essentially stops his motion" -- any reversal or stop would be a balk, but I don't think that's what you really mean.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
Balk?

This has nothing to do with a runner leading off 2nd it has everything to do with a runner on 3rd base and a runner on 1st base and the Pitcher in the STRETCH position (not wind up) Pitcher is in his motion on delivering the pitch to the batter when the Defense yells "runner going" he then instead of continuing delivering the pitch home, the Pitcher abruptly spins toward 2nd to make a play on the runner.
I have had different answers one saying it is a Balk because 2nd base was not occupied and then another response saying it is not a Balk because Pitcher can legally spin to make a play on the runner from 1st going to 2nd. I am leaning towards the 1st response as it being a Balk.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 09:14am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 410
"it is a Balk because 2nd base was not occupied"

No, wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 09:28am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 410
Rule 6.02(a) talks about balks while a pitcher is touching the pitching rubber, without distinguishing between wind-up and set position. Rule 6.02(a)(4) allows what you describe; look at the comment that follows:

It is a balk when
(4) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play;

Rule 6.02 (a)(4) Comment (Rule 8.05(d ) Comment): When determining whether the pitcher throws or feints a throw to an unoccupied base for the purpose of making a play, the umpire should consider whether a runner on the previous base demonstrates or otherwise creates an impression of his intent to
advance to such unoccupied base.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umonblue View Post
This has nothing to do with a runner leading off 2nd it has everything to do with a runner on 3rd base and a runner on 1st base and the Pitcher in the STRETCH position (not wind up) Pitcher is in his motion on delivering the pitch to the batter when the Defense yells "runner going" he then instead of continuing delivering the pitch home, the Pitcher abruptly spins toward 2nd to make a play on the runner.
I have had different answers one saying it is a Balk because 2nd base was not occupied and then another response saying it is not a Balk because Pitcher can legally spin to make a play on the runner from 1st going to 2nd. I am leaning towards the 1st response as it being a Balk.
If you lean that way you will fall over. The rule states that the pitcher, in contact with his plate, cannot throw or feint to an unoccupied base, EXCEPT for the purpose of making a play. Throwing to an unoccupied base to get an advancing runner, drive back an advancing runner, get or drive back a runner who has demonstrated or created the impression of his intent to advance is a purpose of making a play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umonblue View Post
This has nothing to do with a runner leading off 2nd
I understand the play is different -- but the rule is the same. If the move would have been legal with R2, then it's legal with R1 stealing. If not, then not.

Quote:
I have had different answers one saying it is a Balk because 2nd base was not occupied and then another response saying it is not a Balk because Pitcher can legally spin to make a play on the runner from 1st going to 2nd. I am leaning towards the 1st response as it being a Balk.
Three things:

1) Get a rule book or look it up on line
2) Read the rule -- the entire rule -- do not stop after the first clause
3) Lean the other way
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umonblue View Post
This has nothing to do with a runner leading off 2nd it has everything to do with a runner on 3rd base and a runner on 1st base and the Pitcher in the STRETCH position (not wind up) Pitcher is in his motion on delivering the pitch to the batter when the Defense yells "runner going" he then instead of continuing delivering the pitch home, the Pitcher abruptly spins toward 2nd to make a play on the runner.
I have had different answers one saying it is a Balk because 2nd base was not occupied and then another response saying it is not a Balk because Pitcher can legally spin to make a play on the runner from 1st going to 2nd. I am leaning towards the 1st response as it being a Balk.
Sorry that your runner got thrown out.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balk, Protest, Balk, EJ TussAgee11 Baseball 23 Sun Jul 19, 2009 02:18pm
Balk/No Balk: LHP fients pickoff the 3rd base Mike6221 Baseball 4 Sun Jun 07, 2009 09:47pm
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) tem_blue Baseball 6 Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? johnnyg08 Baseball 2 Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! Gre144 Baseball 12 Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1