Thread: Balk??
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 09:46am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umonblue View Post
This has nothing to do with a runner leading off 2nd
I understand the play is different -- but the rule is the same. If the move would have been legal with R2, then it's legal with R1 stealing. If not, then not.

Quote:
I have had different answers one saying it is a Balk because 2nd base was not occupied and then another response saying it is not a Balk because Pitcher can legally spin to make a play on the runner from 1st going to 2nd. I am leaning towards the 1st response as it being a Balk.
Three things:

1) Get a rule book or look it up on line
2) Read the rule -- the entire rule -- do not stop after the first clause
3) Lean the other way
Reply With Quote