Thread: Balk??
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:18am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umonblue View Post
I always believed you cannot throw to an unoccupied base but someone said they heard as long as the pitcher is making a play he can do this
"someone" is right.

I'm having trouble following the rest of your description, but if the move would have been legal with an R2, then it's legal with an R1 attempting to advance (and, in FED, even if R1 is feinting an advance the move is legal. OBR does not contain those words, the effect is the same at all the levels we do).

That said, it's very difficult for a pitcher to change his mind mid-stream without balking.
Reply With Quote