![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The situation described in the OP is very simple--batter is OUT. Attempt and intention has nothing to do with it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Jun 25, 2017 at 08:08pm. |
|
|||
|
Can you quote that in the rule book? The "intention" part? Just trying to learn here.
Agreed. If a player presents a bat over the plate and makes no attempt whatsoever to pull back or disengage from the pitch, that's quite a bit of intent. |
|
|||
|
It's only an out if the ball is bunted foul with two strikes. The definition of bunt is that the ball is intentionally met with the bat. Any other contact with the bat is played fair or foul as the case may be.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
See my post above yours.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
It matters on a bunt. See my response above.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A BUNT is a batted ball not swung at, but intentionally met with the bat and tapped slowly within the infield.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
B1 starts to swing at the pitch but attempts to hold back on it or it appears as though he attempts to bunt the ball. In either case, B1 misses the ball. How does umpire determine what to call the pitch? RULING: A call of that nature is based entirely upon the umpire’s judgment. Therefore, the umpire must, in order to be consistent, have criteria to guide him in making the decision. The rule that most umpires follow is that if the bat is swung so it is in front of the batter’s body or ahead of it, it is a strike. In bunting, any movement of the bat toward the ball when the ball is over or near the plate area, is a strike. The mere holding of the bat in the strike zone is not an attempt to bunt. (10-1-4a) |
|
|||
|
He's not disagreeing that it's a batted ball (and thus, foul -- or fair in your quoted play). He's just disagreeing that it's a bunt (and, thus, a foul bunt with two strikes ==> out).
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How do you continue? | JetMetFan | Basketball | 17 | Sat Oct 12, 2013 05:50am |
| Cancel or Continue??? | ABC Coach | Basketball | 10 | Mon May 17, 2010 12:07am |
| Continue the count? | Ref in PA | Basketball | 13 | Wed Dec 05, 2007 02:11am |
| Continue play or not? | dumbref | Football | 14 | Tue Nov 23, 2004 09:47pm |
| Five fouls and allowed to continue. | mick | Basketball | 23 | Mon Jan 26, 2004 02:33pm |