The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2017, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 47
Two Runners On Same Base

Dodgers vs Cardinals on JUN 01, 2017--R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd. B1 hits ball (chopper or slow roller) to F5. R1 starts running toward home, F5 throws to F2 and R1 is now in a rundown. Back and forth between 3rd and home a few times. Finally, R1 dives back to 3rd base. During the rundown, R2 has run to 3rd base. Now, both players occupy the base. Although I did not see a tag, there must have been one because R1 was the player called out (if there had not been a tag, R2 should have been called out if I understand the rule correctly). I did not see an explanation from the umpire, although there was a small discussion between him and the third base coach. Just wondering if anyone else saw the play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2017, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
Dodgers vs Cardinals on JUN 01, 2017--R3, R2. B1 hits ball (chopper or slow roller) to F5. R3 starts running toward home, F5 throws to F2 and R3 is now in a rundown. Back and forth between 3rd and home a few times. Finally, R3 dives back to 3rd base. During the rundown, R2 has run to 3rd base. Now, both players occupy the base. Although I did not see a tag, there must have been one because R3 was the player called out (if there had not been a tag, R2 should have been called out if I understand the rule correctly). I did not see an explanation from the umpire, although there was a small discussion between him and the third base coach. Just wondering if anyone else saw the play.
Fixed the designations.

If there was no tag no one is out.

Tag both. R2 should be the one out unless R3 stepped off and was then tagged.

If there are two runners on a base the trail runner is out when tagged
UNLESS the lead runner was forced in which case he is the one who is out when tagged .
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2017, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 47
I should have mentioned that the defensive player did tag both runners as they both were in contact with 3rd base. The reason I thought there must have been a tag on R1 before he returned to 3rd is because he was the runner that was out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2017, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
I should have mentioned that the defensive player did tag both runners as they both were in contact with 3rd base. The reason I thought there must have been a tag on R1 before he returned to 3rd is because he was the runner that was out.
F2 tagged R3 as R3 touched 3B, safe. F2 tagged R3 off the base as, I think, he mistakenly thought he was out on the tag of 2 runners on a base and gave up the base. "Dodgers retire Piscotty..." I think R2 should have been out also as it looks like he was tagged by F2 also in the instance while R3 was still touching the bag.

https://www.mlb.com/gameday/dodgers-...al,game=490907

Last edited by umpjim; Sat Jun 03, 2017 at 05:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2017, 05:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
(if there had not been a tag, R2 should have been called out if I understand the rule correctly).
You don't understand the rule correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2017, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 476

[email protected]: Dodgers retire Piscotty in rundown



Seems pretty clear here that R3 is tagged while both he and R2 are on the base, resulting in a safe call. At 0:12 R3 comes off the bag and is tagged, leading to his being called out. Pretty cut and dry play.
__________________
Throwing people out of a game is like riding a bike- once you get the hang of it, it can be a lot of fun.- Ron Luciano
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2017, 08:56am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Hmm....when I looked at the replay, I saw Piscotty tagged sliding back into 3rd and he was called safe. Then I saw the runner from 2nd tagged while he and Piscotty were both on the bag and the umpire did NOT make a call. Then I saw Piscotty step off the bag, was tagged, and was called out. I understand why Piscotty was called out for being tagged after he stepped off the bag, but why wasn't the runner from 2nd called out when HE was tagged (while both he and Piscotty were on the bag at the same time)?
Methinks the umpire missed one.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2017, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmets View Post

[email protected]: Dodgers retire Piscotty in rundown



Seems pretty clear here that R3 is tagged while both he and R2 are on the base, resulting in a safe call. At 0:12 R3 comes off the bag and is tagged, leading to his being called out. Pretty cut and dry play.
After tagging R3 the first time did you see F2 tag R2 while R3 was still touching 3B?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2017, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
After tagging R3 the first time did you see F2 tag R2 while R3 was still touching 3B?
I did not.
Piscotti was called out only after he stepped off the bag after being called safe.
R2 was never tagged.
Pretty easy play to understand.
Had both runners been tagged after Piscotti was safe the R 2 would have been out.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2017, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
I did not.
.
U3 didn't see it either.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2017, 10:52am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 767
Looked like a tag of R2's midriff about mid-way between :10 and :11. U3 seemed to be focused on Piscotty, so he probably didn't notice the tag.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Runners On Base MOofficial Baseball 1 Thu Aug 14, 2014 02:14pm
2 runners on a base vcblue Softball 14 Tue Jun 02, 2009 09:07pm
Two runners on same base? fan Softball 3 Thu Apr 27, 2006 07:54pm
2 runners on third base strike4 Softball 4 Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:42pm
2 runners on the same base Gre144 Baseball 4 Mon Jun 04, 2001 07:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1