The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2017, 05:20pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 7,979
Assistance

Not wanting to blow up the other thread...

Ruling in Fed or NCAA:

Bases loaded, 1 out. Texas leaguer (not IFF) uncaught in shallow left. Runner from 2nd is off with the pitch, Runner from 3rd is tagging. As the ball is not caught, Runner from 3rd heads home. Runner from 2nd overruns third heading home, and is physically stopped by his coach, who pushes him back to 3rd base.

Throw goes home for the apparent force at home - F2 catches and touches home in plenty of time, but does not tag. Runner slides home.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2017, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Not wanting to blow up the other thread...

Ruling in Fed or NCAA:

Bases loaded, 1 out. Texas leaguer (not IFF) uncaught in shallow left. Runner from 2nd is off with the pitch, Runner from 3rd is tagging. As the ball is not caught, Runner from 3rd heads home. Runner from 2nd overruns third heading home, and is physically stopped by his coach, who pushes him back to 3rd base.

Throw goes home for the apparent force at home - F2 catches and touches home in plenty of time, but does not tag. Runner slides home.
R2 was out upon the coach's interference. Force is off. Safe.

That's my take.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2017, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 524
Fed 3-2-2 Penalty: The runner shall be called out immediately.

Unlike other penalties in 3-2 and 8-4-2, I see nothing that says the ball is dead. Without a tag, the run scores.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 15,896
NCAA might have a different ruling because I think the runner there is not declared out until the end of playing action, or similar.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
NCAA might have a different ruling because I think the runner there is not declared out until the end of playing action, or similar.
Why would R2 not be out immediately so the defense knows they don't have to play on him?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 15,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Why would R2 not be out immediately so the defense knows they don't have to play on him?
I am just saying what I recall the NCAA rule to be (not what I think it should be, nor how it might get ruled on the field).

PENALTY for e. and f.A delayed dead ball shall be called. At the conclusion of
the play, the assisted runner shall be declared out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vermillion, South Dakota
Posts: 190
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
Bob is correct. It is a delayed dead ball, as it allows for plays to be made on other runners. You call the interference immediately, but do not declare the runner out until the conclusion of play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33 View Post
Bob is correct. It is a delayed dead ball, as it allows for plays to be made on other runners. You call the interference immediately, but do not declare the runner out until the conclusion of play.
Which is not how I plan on doing it for reasons as shown in the OP. But it is the correct answer for an NCAA test:

"d. This is coach interference. It is a delayed dead ball. After the play, R2 is declared out and the other runners remain at the bases they obtained during the play."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2017, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 19
IHSA out

According to the rules video I just watched, the call is the assisted runner is immediately called out and the play continues live. Having said that, i do believe the Umpire better be yelling OUT loudly and clearly so that the catcher knows the tag will be needed at home plate. I think this would cause a fuss regardless because the throw is coming in from left to a no-tag situation at the plate.. during midflight the coach grabs the runner on third. A smart coach would do this intentionally possibly to confuse the defense and have exactly what you had happened. Catcher doesnt tag, run scores, tied game is now a winner, based solely on the rules.

I would like to know Bob Jenkins updated take on this rule and my comment about if a coach did it intentionally in order to disrupt the defense (Although who knows if you could "prove" intentionally assistance).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2017, 12:47pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 7,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
NCAA might have a different ruling because I think the runner there is not declared out until the end of playing action, or similar.
This is exactly the part I was hoping would get discussed. At NCAA, you don't call the out. If, as intimated by a couple above, you DO call the out immediately, then you've removed the force, changing the result of the OP. You are NOT supposed to call this out, and as such, the force would remain in effect.

In high school, obviously, the force is off, the umpire called it (and as mentioned, hopefully loud), and the run scores if, as described, F2 doesn't tag the runner.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2017, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
This is exactly the part I was hoping would get discussed. At NCAA, you don't call the out. If, as intimated by a couple above, you DO call the out immediately, then you've removed the force, changing the result of the OP. You are NOT supposed to call this out, and as such, the force would remain in effect.

In high school, obviously, the force is off, the umpire called it (and as mentioned, hopefully loud), and the run scores if, as described, F2 doesn't tag the runner.
I think we could come up with other inequities caused by not calling the out when occurs. Do you think the OP is the NCAA rational for the delayed out call?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2017, 05:46pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 7,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
I think we could come up with other inequities caused by not calling the out when occurs. Do you think the OP is the NCAA rational for the delayed out call?
I don't know their rationale.. but I do know that the rule is not only written that way, but it's driven home by a case play and a test question. Its clear they want it called that way... and if you do it the other way, you set up a protestable situation that can't be solved to either team's satisfaction.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2017, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 15,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
According to the rules video I just watched, the call is the assisted runner is immediately called out .
That's the HS and pro rule. NCAA is different.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2017, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I don't know their rationale.. but I do know that the rule is not only written that way, but it's driven home by a case play and a test question. Its clear they want it called that way... and if you do it the other way, you set up a protestable situation that can't be solved to either team's satisfaction.
While the calling of the out is delayed, is the actual out delayed? Would a run score if the assist was the third out that happened before a runner from third scored when the assist occurred before the score and other plays followed.

Last edited by umpjim; Sat Feb 18, 2017 at 12:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
While the calling of the out is delayed, is the actual out delayed? Would a run score if the assist was the third out that happened before a runner from third scored when the assist occurred before the score and other plays followed.
This was my next question too. Say the OP occurs...F2 tags the plate for the force out of R3. Then, throws back towards third, but the throw sails to the left field foul pole. All three runners cross the plate. Obviously, R2 is out on the interference and his run doesn't score. But, what's the timing of that out? If it's after the play is over, do R1 and BR score?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for assistance egj13 Basketball 0 Tue Feb 12, 2013 02:20pm
Assistance Ch1town Basketball 29 Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:49am
Assistance appreciated! SWMOzebra Basketball 4 Thu Mar 22, 2007 01:59pm
Overlap Assistance jkumpire Volleyball 1 Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:34pm
Looking for some assistance nig85 Softball 9 Sat Feb 26, 2005 02:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1