![]() |
|
|
|||
Assistance
Not wanting to blow up the other thread...
Ruling in Fed or NCAA: Bases loaded, 1 out. Texas leaguer (not IFF) uncaught in shallow left. Runner from 2nd is off with the pitch, Runner from 3rd is tagging. As the ball is not caught, Runner from 3rd heads home. Runner from 2nd overruns third heading home, and is physically stopped by his coach, who pushes him back to 3rd base. Throw goes home for the apparent force at home - F2 catches and touches home in plenty of time, but does not tag. Runner slides home.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
That's my take.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Why would R2 not be out immediately so the defense knows they don't have to play on him?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
PENALTY for e. and f.—A delayed dead ball shall be called. At the conclusion of the play, the assisted runner shall be declared out. |
|
|||
Quote:
In high school, obviously, the force is off, the umpire called it (and as mentioned, hopefully loud), and the run scores if, as described, F2 doesn't tag the runner.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I don't know their rationale.. but I do know that the rule is not only written that way, but it's driven home by a case play and a test question. Its clear they want it called that way... and if you do it the other way, you set up a protestable situation that can't be solved to either team's satisfaction.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
IHSA out
According to the rules video I just watched, the call is the assisted runner is immediately called out and the play continues live. Having said that, i do believe the Umpire better be yelling OUT loudly and clearly so that the catcher knows the tag will be needed at home plate. I think this would cause a fuss regardless because the throw is coming in from left to a no-tag situation at the plate.. during midflight the coach grabs the runner on third. A smart coach would do this intentionally possibly to confuse the defense and have exactly what you had happened. Catcher doesnt tag, run scores, tied game is now a winner, based solely on the rules.
I would like to know Bob Jenkins updated take on this rule and my comment about if a coach did it intentionally in order to disrupt the defense (Although who knows if you could "prove" intentionally assistance). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Looking for assistance | egj13 | Basketball | 0 | Tue Feb 12, 2013 02:20pm |
Assistance | Ch1town | Basketball | 29 | Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:49am |
Assistance appreciated! | SWMOzebra | Basketball | 4 | Thu Mar 22, 2007 01:59pm |
Overlap Assistance | jkumpire | Volleyball | 1 | Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:34pm |
Looking for some assistance | nig85 | Softball | 9 | Sat Feb 26, 2005 02:48pm |