The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2016, 04:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Regardless of the position of his feet, THAT is a foul ball.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2016, 06:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 654
You can't possibly know that from the pictures posted in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2016, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
MLB (and NCAA) does NOT have the "once called foul it must remain foul" rule like FED does (that is, they have instances where there this is NOT true). Beyond that, we'd need a better description or video.
The pop up was in the infield. Couldn't be changed in FED no matter what. Couldn't be changed in NCAA I think by rule. Couldn't be replay reviewed in OBR. Did not meet the only MLB criteria I know of (no one reacted to the foul call). But it was the perfect circumstance where 8.02(c)/9.02(c) could be used to change the call and nobody argued. Yost accepted the explanation that I assume was made. PU was blocked and had a bad angle. He knew he had a bad angle and confered. U3 with a good angle gave his opinion and the crew decided this was an instance where they could change the call as Moreland was already on 1B when the ball fell in the infield.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2016, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
The pop up was in the infield. Couldn't be changed in FED no matter what. Couldn't be changed in NCAA I think by rule.
Agreed, for this play. My first post was just a general statement of the rules -- I had no idea what the specific play was or how they corrected it.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 02, 2016, 01:48pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
Ranger player hits a pop up 12" foul
Clearly this pop up was not twelve inches foul.... even on the bad angles.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I screw this up? davelock11 Baseball 19 Sat Mar 23, 2013 09:56am
Big Screw Up Welpe Basketball 40 Thu Jan 20, 2011 07:33am
BU screw-up. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 6 Sat Jul 05, 2008 01:41pm
AP screw-up ref18 Basketball 10 Wed Feb 06, 2008 08:03pm
Need Help on this screw up Chess Ref Basketball 25 Tue Oct 24, 2006 04:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1