The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jul 08, 2016, 10:40am
Official Forum Member

Moving Up Levels

So I am in my third year of high school officiating. I am starting to work the higher level games with the top varsity coaches. I am finding as each individually gets to know me, they are awfully hard on me in close calls and make mention to the fact that this is a higher level game, suggesting I am not ready (even when the call is right). Is this common? Does this eventually wane as they see me more?
Old Fri Jul 08, 2016, 10:54am
Official Forum Member

First of all, when you enter the higher levels, you will have to ride out the razzing until you prove yourself. We've all been through it.

Second, if you are being told ".... this is a higher level ....." you may be ruling at a less than acceptable level. Watch your strike zone as it lowers with "moving up in the levels". Make sure that you are focusing on the play and not making calls while on the move (except for the front of the DB when in a 2 man system).

Talk with your veteran partners for critiquing to help you along.
Old Fri Jul 08, 2016, 10:56am
Official Forum Member

Yes, it will probably wane. But, if I were you, I would not tolerate it. Shut it down.