The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Nov 11, 2002, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member

Talking

I had a opportunity last week to referee two different local college scrimmages, a Division 3 and a Division 1 school. I had a blast!

To this point I have only worked three whistle mechanics at camps, but have become quite comfortable with it. I found the big guys a lot easier to ref than the JV's I have been doing for a couple of years.

I know that there are many game management skills that go along with moving up, but from just an officiating stand point, do you senior officials agree that the varsity athletes are easier to call than the rec leagues and JV levels?
Old Mon Nov 11, 2002, 05:53pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to joshlamerritt
Quote:
Originally posted by ranjo
I know that there are many game management skills that go along with moving up, but from just an officiating stand point, do you senior officials agree that the varsity athletes are easier to call than the rec leagues and JV levels?
Ranjo,

It depends. I have only been calling varsity games for 2 years, but to me you have to be alot faster, and your positioning is much more important. At the lower levels, you don't have to move around as much because the game is alot slower and it's alot easier to anticipate where the ball is going to be. I much prefer varsity games, but you have to be alot sharper and must always be in the right place if you want to make the right call.

Josh
Old Mon Nov 11, 2002, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member