The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 12:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Excellent question by SC UMP. But, the variable answers tend to be confusing. It seems to me that it doesn't matter if R1 touches or misses 2B, if the ball goes to first and BR is put out, there will never be a force.

Greymule, will you take us through your reasoning using the OBR or Fed rules to justify a forced out at any time in this example? I realize that on a sustained appeal, the out is as if the ball beat R1 to 2B,and if a third out, everything in the game ends -- including R3's attempt to score. But, who decides if that ball theoretically went to 1B or 2B when the appeal is granted, and how could anyone objectively say that a forced out depends on whether the "miss" was before or after the out at 1B. It just seems to me that if BR is put out at 1B, there could never be a forced play anywhere at any time.

Shoot! I'm confused just trying to ask the question!
__________________
Marty
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1