The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
Saw this yesterday

Was watching college fast-pitch softball and saw a weird play to end the Florida/Alabama game. Not so much interested in what the correct softball call was, or if it's different in baseball, but wanted to know what would have happened if the same thing happened in baseball.

Situation is two outs, bases loaded. BR hits one back up the middle that ticks off the top of F1's glove toward F4. F4 has to alter their path to the ball (was going up the middle, now having to go back to their left). In the process they are now on a collision course with R1. F4 pulls up to avoid contacting R1 (who is in the basepath) and therefore can make no play.

What do you have? I'll let you know how it was ruled (again, this is NCAA softball so the rule set would be different) but as a coach I would love to know the correct baseball interpretation of this situation. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
Was watching college fast-pitch softball and saw a weird play to end the Florida/Alabama game. Not so much interested in what the correct softball call was, or if it's different in baseball, but wanted to know what would have happened if the same thing happened in baseball.

Situation is two outs, bases loaded. BR hits one back up the middle that ticks off the top of F1's glove toward F4. F4 has to alter their path to the ball (was going up the middle, now having to go back to their left). In the process they are now on a collision course with R1. F4 pulls up to avoid contacting R1 (who is in the basepath) and therefore can make no play.

What do you have? I'll let you know how it was ruled (again, this is NCAA softball so the rule set would be different) but as a coach I would love to know the correct baseball interpretation of this situation. Thanks.
Runner interference in baseball.

If you're hit by the deflected ball you're OK but there's no escaping the fact that you cannot interfere with the fielder no matter what.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
Saw it in action. I've got INT. Don't listen to what the talking heads say about once the ball is deflected you can't have interference. I'll chime in later also with what I think should have happened.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
Thanks Tx and Rich, that's what I thought too when I viewed it live. The officials rules no interference (I think it was basically a "play on") and let the run score that ended up finishing the game.

Would love to hear what should have happened, but I'm thinking you've got an out on R1 (Fed 5-1-1e?) and the inning's over since it's the 3rd out (i.e., don't need to consider if the BR would have been out as well on a possible double play).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:34pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Don't work softball, but can't imagine why INT would not be called in softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
You make no mention wether F4 had a play or not, only that F4 stopped. Was there any contact? HTBT situation. On a deflection unless F4 still has a legitimate chance at a play well, then there could be nothing. If contact and no chance of a play, possible OBS. HTBT.

Seems as though txump81 saw the play so I go with him. HTBT.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
There was a chance at a play at 1B.

NCAA rules, so I've got an out on R1. All runners return to their TOP bases since BR has not reached 1B. 11.20

If there really were no INT, 1BU should have been selling the safe signal with a "No interference", safe call, "No interference". As the play happened, he did nothing at all.

FYI, F4 had to check up to not collide with R1 and then proceeded to field the ball and maybe got clipped by R1's heel. F4 ended up rolling on her back into the infield. Run scored, game over.

"Losing coach" comes out and catches umpires behind 3rd base as they are leaving. The umpires then have a conversation and 1BU comes back to the coach with a "We've got nothing" and then they leave. Coach then has lots of choice words.

The whole last scene could have been alleviated had 1BU done as above.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
Link

Go to the 2:58:45 mark to see the play in question.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
I disagree that this is interference in baseball. (NFHS) The most current rule book I have with me is 2007, but I cite 8-4-2g, note 1: "If two fielders try and field a batted ball and the runner contacts one or both, the umpire shall decide which one is entitled to field the ball and that fielder only is entitled to protection."

I am leery of calling runner interference on a misplayed ball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindguy View Post
I disagree that this is interference in baseball. (NFHS) The most current rule book I have with me is 2007, but I cite 8-4-2g, note 1: "If two fielders try and field a batted ball and the runner contacts one or both, the umpire shall decide which one is entitled to field the ball and that fielder only is entitled to protection."

I am leery of calling runner interference on a misplayed ball.
The rule you're citing concerns a play where 2 fielders have a play on the ball. For instance, if the batter hits the ball in the hole, and both F5 and F6 have a play on it. In that case, only one fielder is protected. This provision is quite irrelevant to the case under consideration.

This is not a misplayed ball, it's a deflected ball. And even if you call it misplayed, what provision of the rule shows that it's not interference? The fielder has the right of way unless HE, not a teammate, misplays the ball.

And if you're not going to call INT here, do you realize that you probably have to call obstruction? Not in my game.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindguy View Post
I disagree that this is interference in baseball. (NFHS) The most current rule book I have with me is 2007, but I cite 8-4-2g, note 1: "If two fielders try and field a batted ball and the runner contacts one or both, the umpire shall decide which one is entitled to field the ball and that fielder only is entitled to protection."

I am leery of calling runner interference on a misplayed ball.
It is absolutely positively interference in OBR.

MLBUM:

After a batted ball has been touched (deflected) by an infielder, if the ball then strikes a runner (unintentionally on the part of the runner), it is alive and in play despite the fact that another infielder may be in position to field the ball. This is not the case if a fielder is making a play on the ball. Specifically, if a batted ball is deflected by an infielder and another infielder has a play on the ball, the runner must avoid the fielder. If the runner interferes with the fielder making a play — even though the ball has been touched by another fielder — the runner is declared out.
Under the rules, a fielder making a play on a batted ball takes priority.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindguy View Post
I disagree that this is interference in baseball. (NFHS) The most current rule book I have with me is 2007, but I cite 8-4-2g, note 1: "If two fielders try and field a batted ball and the runner contacts one or both, the umpire shall decide which one is entitled to field the ball and that fielder only is entitled to protection."

I am leery of calling runner interference on a misplayed ball.
There's a huge difference between a misplayed ball and a deflected ball... this one was not misplayed.

Also, the case you describe refers to two fielders fielding the same ball at the same time (think a popup between 2 fielders).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
had a first yesterday shipwreck Softball 11 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:45pm
I wasn't at my best yesterday, please help! LIIRISHMAN Softball 37 Mon May 18, 2009 05:13pm
Odd day on the court yesterday... Coltdoggs Basketball 8 Mon Feb 25, 2008 03:37pm
Passed on a T yesterday, why? Coltdoggs Basketball 32 Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:14pm
Yesterday was not fun... AlabamaBlue Softball 9 Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1