The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 09:09am
KGB KGB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Backcourt violation or not?

On a TI from the division line, A1 releases the ball. The ball is deflected by B1 (who is pressuring the TI). The ball gets delected further into the air.

A2, jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball in the air while over the division line and then lands in the backcourt.

Is this a violation?

Clearly prior to this season, it was not a violation.

However, this year, the TI ends when the ball is legally touched inbounds which seems to occur when B1 deflected the inbounds pass. Therefore, the TI "exception" to the backcourt violation would no longer apply.

All other criteria for a backcourt violation seem to be present.

What am I missing???????????
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Since there is no team control on a throw in, then the answer is no. This is a legal play- 9-9-1
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 09:42am
KGB KGB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Since there is no team control on a throw in, then the answer is no. This is a legal play- 9-9-1
The throw in is over when B1 deflected the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB
The throw in is over when B1 deflected the ball.
Hey go to your case book and look at page 72 (9.9.1 Situation D) I was a little hasty in my answer. They need to word this a little bit better and determine what a legal touch is. I guess a deflection is a legal touch....
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Hey go to your case book and look at page 72 (9.9.1 Situation D) I was a little hasty in my answer. They need to word this a little bit better and determine what a legal touch is. I guess a deflection is a legal touch....
illegal touch = kick
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
illegal touch = kick
Or batting with a fist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB
On a TI from the division line, A1 releases the ball. The ball is deflected by B1 (who is pressuring the TI). The ball gets delected further into the air.

A2, jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball in the air while over the division line and then lands in the backcourt.

Is this a violation?

Clearly prior to this season, it was not a violation.

However, this year, the TI ends when the ball is legally touched inbounds which seems to occur when B1 deflected the inbounds pass. Therefore, the TI "exception" to the backcourt violation would no longer apply.

All other criteria for a backcourt violation seem to be present.

What am I missing???????????
The only think missing is that is was NOT clear prior to this season that this was not a violation.

It is clear that it's a violation now. See interp 6
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 09:43am
KGB KGB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The only think missing is that is was NOT clear prior to this season that this was not a violation.

It is clear that it's a violation now. See interp 6
Bob,

Clarify "See interp 6".

I work HS only.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2007, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB
Bob,

Clarify "See interp 6".

I work HS only.
NFHS 2007-2008 Basetball Rules Interpretations, Situation 6.

You can get them on the NFHS website.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? mu4scott Basketball 30 Fri Feb 23, 2007 03:32pm
Backcourt violation??? jshock Basketball 10 Wed Nov 27, 2002 01:31pm
Backcourt Violation Bchill24 Basketball 3 Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:56am
Backcourt violation? jroche Basketball 34 Fri Dec 21, 2001 01:41pm
Backcourt violation. Dennis Nicely Basketball 7 Mon Jan 15, 2001 11:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1