Foul and technical foul
My team played a game in the county's amateur competition in Romania. It was a close game, and with 9 seconds left on the clock we were 1 point behind. We had the attack, and one of my teammates was fouled. The referee called the foul, but immediately after the call, the player, frustrated by the repeated fouls on him, lost his nerve and kicked the ball. Righteous technical foul, nothing wrong here.
My question is: was the referee right to cancel the 2 free throws the fouled player had to execute, and gave 2 free throws to the opposing team?
In my oppinion the fouled player should have had his 2 throws and after that the 2 throws for the opposing team, and the possesion of the ball.
Can anyone clear this up? Thanks!
|