View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 27, 2007, 12:50pm
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mofa
My team played a game in the county's amateur competition in Romania. It was a close game, and with 9 seconds left on the clock we were 1 point behind. We had the attack, and one of my teammates was fouled. The referee called the foul, but immediately after the call, the player, frustrated by the repeated fouls on him, lost his nerve and kicked the ball. Righteous technical foul, nothing wrong here.

My question is: was the referee right to cancel the 2 free throws the fouled player had to execute, and gave 2 free throws to the opposing team?

In my oppinion the fouled player should have had his 2 throws and after that the 2 throws for the opposing team, and the possesion of the ball.

Can anyone clear this up? Thanks!
Assuming that your opponents were in team penalty situation (fifth and subsequent fouls in the quarter), the penalties for the two fouls were, in chronological order:
(1) two FT for your team mate;
(2) two FT and throw in at division line for your opponents.

Since the two penalties are different, both must be executed. No cancellation. If your opponents were not in team penalty situation, the penalty (1) would have been a throw in, which would have been cancelled due to the subsequent FT for your opponents.

Ciao
Reply With Quote