![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
How to resume after clock starts during throw-in that is untouched.
I’ve had multiple scenarios now where the clock started prematurely. Now the concern that I have is where to resume play? At where the ball was located when the clock malfunction was identified or at the original spot of the throw-in?
I can’t find any material on this. I’m wondering if say the play is an alley-oop with three seconds left and the throw-in is from the sideline. Clock starts without anyone touching it and the only thing that happens is that the ball bounces off the backboard untouched and then bounces out of bounds on the end line. Where would the play be resumed from? Or another play would be the ball is rolled in from the end line in the backcourt. The ball rolls into the front court and then you find out the clock started prematurely. Where would the throw-in be located? |
|
|||
Quote:
If it has ended, restart from where the ball is when play is stopped. |
|
|||
Throwin Violation ...
Quote:
7-6-2: … The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. PENALTY: (Section 2) Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot. With definite knowledge, which you seem to have, reset the game clock to three seconds. 5-10: ART. 1 The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock properly only when he/she has definite information relative to the time involved. The exact time observed by the official may be placed on the clock. ART. 2 If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official’s count or other official information may be used to make a correction.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Point Of Interruption ...
Quote:
Although technically not a correctable error (although it's an error, and it's correctable), I'm pretty sure that 2-10-6 would apply: 2-10-6: If an error is corrected, play must be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error … Use definite knowledge, a visual, or non-visual count, to correct the game clock. 5-10: ART. 1 The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock properly only when he/she has definite information relative to the time involved. The exact time observed by the official may be placed on the clock. ART. 2 If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official’s count or other official information may be used to make a correction.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 09, 2023 at 03:07pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
As I read the OP, no one inbounds had touched the ball when the referee stopped play because the clock had improperly started.the |
|
|||
Quote:
But, it doesn't matter. The reference you want is 4-36-2b (slightly edited): Play shall be resumed by.... A throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity. |
|
|||
Interrupted Game ...
Quote:
Are you calling this an inadvertent whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, or a correctable error? It's not an inadvertent whistle, it was an advertent whistle. It's a timing error, an error, and often correctable, but not a correctable error. It's an interrupted game, but not like the interrupted game in 5-4-3 (interrupted because of events beyond the control of the responsible administrative authorities). But I can go along with interrupted game based on purpose and intent. But doesn't one still need 4-4-3 to determine the throwin spot? 4-4-3: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 10, 2023 at 12:19pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The are no "do overs" in NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's Basketball therefore there are no "do overs" in either Throw-in situation that you have presented. Situation #1: Assuming that it was Team A that had the Ball for a Throw-in. Team A has committed a Throw-in Violation. The Ball is put back into Play with Team B being awarded a Designated Spot Throw-in at the Spot of Team A's Throw-in on the End Line in its Back Court where the Ball went Out of Bounds. The Game Clock is reset to 0:03.0 because per Rule that is the only Definite Time known by the Game Officials. Situation #2: Assuming that it was Team A that had the Ball for a Throw-in. The Ball is put back into Play with Team A being awarded a Designated Spot Throw-in in its Front Court on the Boundary Line nearest where the Ball was when the Game Officials stopped play. The Game Clock is reset to 0:03.0 because per Rule that is the only Definite Time known by the Game Officials. See the Thread in the Forum that has previously these Situations: https://forum.officiating.com/basket...onds-left.html Author's editing at Dec. 15/Fri.(12:22amEST), 2023: In Situation #1: Additions are Green and deletions are Red. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Magic Spots ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
NFHS Do Over ...
That ship has now passed.
2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 5: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and B2 knocks the ball loose. While the ball is loose, the official recognizes their mistake, whistles and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the same spot. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A loose ball does not change the status of the ball as it is still in Team A’s control. The mistake can be corrected until the status of the ball changes. The clock should be reset to the time remaining when the throw-in was made by Team A. (7-6-6)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
The Throw-in in Situation 5's Ruling is not a "do over" anymore than A1 reshooting his/her missed FTA when B1 commits a FT Violation is a "do over". MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Do Over ...
Quote:
And in a sandlot baseball game, if we can't agree on safe, or out, we call a "do over", have the base runners return to their bases, the batter returns to the batter's box, and the pitcher throws again with the previous count. I really don't remember any real do overs in playground basketball. I do remember an odd rule, the "force out rule". Ball handler A1 gets knocked out of bounds by B1, but instead of a foul, one calls “force out” and Team A gets the ball for a throwin. We might have even had this rule in high school.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 15, 2023 at 03:12pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by Zoochy; Wed Dec 13, 2023 at 05:11pm. |
|
|||
Sorry, in situation one (the alleyoop play off a throw in), I forgot to mention the horn went off during the throw-in and before the ball going out of bounds along the end line. The pertinent information is that the horn signifies that the clock prematurely started and that the ball’s location is nearest the end line when the horn sounded.
Based on the case scenario previously provided in this thread, is it indeed that the ball is returned to its previous location? Would this be the only scenario where a “do over” is allowed? I apologize for omitting the part that the horn went off in the middle of the alley oop scenario. Last edited by Afrosheen; Thu Dec 14, 2023 at 04:15pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Clock starts when? | Earthmaster | Basketball | 16 | Wed Dec 16, 2009 09:52pm |
Clock Starts? | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jan 11, 2009 11:30pm |
Clock starts too soon | BayStateRef | Basketball | 18 | Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:43pm |
Clock starts when....??? | Ref4all | Basketball | 17 | Thu Feb 06, 2003 08:55pm |