The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Exclamation

Question...I know I read this somewhere, sometime...when does the clock start when during a free throw, ball hits the left side of the rim, bounces off high and towards the corner, hits the floor, bounces up and then is retrieved by a player. Does the clock start when the ball hits the floor, or when it is touched by a player?
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
I believe it is rule 5-9-art.3

If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.

So I would have to say start the clock when the player in the corner touches it.
__________________
"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"."
- Harry Caray -
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 276
Clock starts when ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. Is this deja vu all over again?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
more to the story...

here's the rest of the story...1.4 sec on the clock, 4th qtr, 2 pt game...ball kareems high off the rim parallel to the base line...bounces on the floor...prior to securing ball, player B calls timeout. Upon securing the ball referee acknowledges timeout...clocks reads .4 sec. Do we put time back on the clock?
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
No, you do not. The clock must be properly started and stopped.

And, technically, the TO should not be granted since the requyest was not made while there was player control.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
no.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Would you consider that the "one-second time differential" between whistle and timekeeper?

Any reference to where I can look this up?
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 53
Clock

According to rule 5.10, a referee may only correct the time on the clock if he/she has definite knowledge of the correct time remaining. The official may use a count (such as a 5 second closely guarded count or 10 second back court count) to help in determining the correct time.

The case book also notes that the official must give the timer "lag" time to stop the clock. According to the book, one second is considered lag time. So if the clock should have been stopped at 5 seconds and it shows 4.1 seconds, no correction should be made.

What differs your case from the case book example is that the clock is stopped, then started and stopped again. In the case book, they refer to plays where the clock was already in motion. Tough call, but you probably have to consider that the lag time.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 335
Talking Re: more to the story...

Quote:
Originally posted by Ref4all
...ball kareems high off the rim
you sure the ball wasn't still in the alcindor?
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Thumbs up

Hey pizanno, great catch. Very funny! Love it!
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
pizanno-

lol...thanks for the laugh...needed it
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,220
I agree that the TO should not have been granted. Cannot grant a TO that is requested without player control. When you consider the fact that the player must catch (starting clock), request and be acknowledge, then whistle blow (stopping clock) - a 1 second loss here is entirely reasonable.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
New Thought

Suppose B allowed the ball to bounce out of bounds. That would be an AP since there's no control, right? Then, IF B had the AP, they could call the time out and no time lost, right?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Re: New Thought

Quote:
Originally posted by mplagrow
Suppose B allowed the ball to bounce out of bounds. That would be an AP since there's no control, right? Then, IF B had the AP, they could call the time out and no time lost, right?
No, it wouldn't be an AP. The opponent of the last team to touch the ball would get it.

That's pretty scary that you don't know that.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Pretty scary. . .well, I admit to not being a veteran ref. I also admit to the occasional brain fart. Now that I think about it, of course you're right. I've never seen the ball go off the rim and then out of bounds. But, if someone shoots the ball and airballs it right out of bounds, the other team is awarded the ball. I guess I was just thinking that their's no team control on a try, but that doesn't void the last touch. So if B had the opportunity to let it go out of bounds, that would be the smart thing to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1