The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2011, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belvidere, IL
Posts: 82
safety or touchdown

This is a play my crew has had a disagreement about for a couple of weeks (it is not even a play that happened to us, just a hypothetical one of us brought up in a pre-game).


Situation: 4th and 15 from Ks 10. the ball is snapped and goes over K1s head into the endzone. K1 and R1 simultaneously recover the ball in the endzone. What is the end result of the play?

My ruling would be safety, but our BJ and U think it should be a TD for R. If you could include a rules citation or a case play I would appreciate it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2011, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
A kick that is jointly possessed belongs to R (6-1-5, 6-2-7), but your situation describes a muffed snap and not a kick. So a joint recovery belongs to K. The result of your play is a safety (7-4-3c).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2011, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
A kick that is jointly possessed belongs to R (6-1-5, 6-2-7), but your situation describes a muffed snap and not a kick. So a joint recovery belongs to K. The result of your play is a safety (7-4-3c).
Right -- i.e. I know what you mean -- but the designations "K" & "R" shouldn't even be used because there was no kick. The ball at the moment of joint recovery belonged to the offense.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2011, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Right -- i.e. I know what you mean -- but the designations "K" & "R" shouldn't even be used because there was no kick. The ball at the moment of joint recovery belonged to the offense.
If you're going to be picky about that, you should be picky about the term 'offense', which is defined as the team in possession of the ball. During a scramble for a loose ball, there is no offense. Team A was last in possession, which gives them possession after a joint recovery.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2011, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,015
That's why we use Team A and B, not offense and defense or kicking team or receiving team.

NCAA: safety.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2011, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
That's why we use Team A and B, not offense and defense or kicking team or receiving team.

NCAA: safety.
OK, but you can't state 'all but one' correctly without distinguishing the offense from A.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2011, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If you're going to be picky about that, you should be picky about the term 'offense', which is defined as the team in possession of the ball. During a scramble for a loose ball, there is no offense. Team A was last in possession, which gives them possession after a joint recovery.
That's not true. The offense remains the offense until there's a change of team possession. Team possession continues while the ball is loose.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2011, 04:14am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,487
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajjl22 View Post
This is a play my crew has had a disagreement about for a couple of weeks (it is not even a play that happened to us, just a hypothetical one of us brought up in a pre-game).


Situation: 4th and 15 from Ks 10. the ball is snapped and goes over K1s head into the endzone. K1 and R1 simultaneously recover the ball in the endzone. What is the end result of the play?

My ruling would be safety, but our BJ and U think it should be a TD for R. If you could include a rules citation or a case play I would appreciate it.

Thanks
CANADIAN RULING:

Safety.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2011, 09:19am
Abide.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Richmond, TX
Posts: 5,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
That's not true. The offense remains the offense until there's a change of team possession.
Actually, there is always an offense and always a defense. The offense is whichever team is in possession of the ball. This is an important distinction for all-but-one / 3-and-1 enforcement.
__________________
Even if youre on the right track, youll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2011, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
A kick that is jointly possessed belongs to R (6-1-5, 6-2-7), but your situation describes a muffed snap and not a kick. So a joint recovery belongs to K. The result of your play is a safety (7-4-3c).
My initial reaction was that you're right, and I still think that, but am having an issue with the wording of the rule. So, if someone can help me wrap my head around this I'd appreciate it.

7-4-3(c): ...The ball belongs to the passing or fumbling team unless lost after fourth down if a fumble or backward pass: (c) becomes dead inbounds while opponents are in joint possession.

The "after fourth down" part is what I think I'm having the issue with. This is not "after fourth down" because it's still part of the fourth down play?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2011, 12:23pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 7,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoug View Post
My initial reaction was that you're right, and I still think that, but am having an issue with the wording of the rule. So, if someone can help me wrap my head around this I'd appreciate it.

7-4-3(c): ...The ball belongs to the passing or fumbling team unless lost after fourth down if a fumble or backward pass: (c) becomes dead inbounds while opponents are in joint possession.

The "after fourth down" part is what I think I'm having the issue with. This is not "after fourth down" because it's still part of the fourth down play?
Of course. What down is it when all this happens? Fourth. Is fourth after fourth? No (unless it's Col vs Missou).

Obviously, if they recover the football on fourth down (and don't meet the LTG), then AFTER fourth down they will not have possession of the ball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2011, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
Ok. That's what I was thinking but got hung up on the wording.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchdown? red Football 8 Mon Sep 14, 2009 05:42pm
Safety or No Safety that is the question BrasoFuerte Football 14 Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm
touchdown or not rgraham Football 2 Tue Nov 15, 2005 01:53pm
DPI on Touchdown jrfath Football 1 Mon Nov 15, 2004 08:06am
First down/Touchdown TriggerMN Football 8 Fri Sep 19, 2003 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1