The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
There are three things you did not say that are in play here.

First - you say the ball is in the plane of the net, and I assume you mean the horizontal plane of the top of the net. The important unanswered question here is whether the ball has crossed the VERTICAL plane of the net.

If it has not - the actions by the blocker are illegal. You cannot block a setter setting the ball if the ball is entirely on the setter's side of the net.

If it HAS, this play by the blocker / hitter is actually coached at the highest levels, and is legal.

Second - if the ball has touched the vertical plane of the net, thus making the defender's block/hit legal - you did not say whether part of the setter's body (usually hands) was above the horizontal plane of the net. If not - if it's just the ball crossing that horizontal plane, the actions of the setter are legal and this should have been a no call.

If the setter's hands were across the horizontal plane of the net while contacting the ball when (or after) the defender contacted the ball... then the setter has, indeed, blocked the ball.

Third - you do not say, although you imply, that the setter is a back row player. I'm assuming she is - and if she is, the block by the setter is, in fact, illegal and your referee called it correctly. If she is not, of course, this is nothing.

So it's possible this referee's call was correct. If the ball had crossed the vertical plane of the net, and the setter was indeed a back row player, and the setter's hands crossed the horizontal plane of the net when she contacted the ball... the referee was correct. If any of these are not true - your referee erred.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats the call justrunnin Basketball 10 Tue Nov 09, 2010 03:00pm
whats the call? RKBUmp Softball 10 Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:09am
Whats the call ? debeau Softball 9 Wed Mar 16, 2005 08:02am
whats the call? wilkey1979 Basketball 7 Sun Feb 29, 2004 08:30pm
whats the call if any? Sideline Ref Basketball 26 Wed Jan 17, 2001 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1