The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Whats the call

A1, the Team A setter, contacts the ball while it is still not completely above the height of the net, but is in such a position that part of the ball is in the plane of the net. B2, the opposition's middle, goes up and contacts the ball?

What's the call?

This was brought up to me by a coach who had it called against his team earlier this season. (NFHS rules). The official in question called an illegal back row attack.

I don't see this as a correct call, because to be an illegal back row attack, the ball must be completely above the height of the net, which it was not.

The question then becomes is this an illegal back row block? Again, given the definition of a block, this can't be an illegal back row block.

so what's the call? I think it is a no call.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats the call justrunnin Basketball 10 Tue Nov 09, 2010 03:00pm
whats the call? RKBUmp Softball 10 Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:09am
Whats the call ? debeau Softball 9 Wed Mar 16, 2005 08:02am
whats the call? wilkey1979 Basketball 7 Sun Feb 29, 2004 08:30pm
whats the call if any? Sideline Ref Basketball 26 Wed Jan 17, 2001 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1