The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
NFHS Rules - What's the call.

Sit. 1 S5 is back to serve. As she contacts the serve a ball from another court rolls onto the court and under the net. The R1 stops play and signals for a replay, Team B then executes a libero replacement.

Sit 2 S5 is back to serve. After she hits the ball, R2 signals the Team R out of rotation, and the ball fails to cross the net legally. Team R's coach questions the call and the R2 realizes his call was incorrect. What's the call?

Sit 3. S5 tosses the ball to serve and swings and misses. Team R then executes a libero replacement. What's the call?
1 - as long as they didn't also make a libero replacement before this serve, this is legal.
2 - replay
3 - no, this is not a time where they can make a libero replacement.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I now see you're saying I would have missed number 2. Is this ruleset dependent? I can't find it right now in the USAV book. I don't do NFHS. Can you quote the rule or ruling? Your answer makes logical sense, but being an official, I like to see it in writing.

(PS - I ref all those other sports at the top. I don't ref volleyball - I coach and own a club).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2014, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
I don't have my books with me right now...it is the horn or inadvertent whistle that does not effect play. This is not a replay, just like a ball rolling on the court is not an automatic replay in any rule set. this action did not affect the result. Blowing a whistle while the setter is setting...well, there you go.

casebook 9.8.1 sit C.

Note: The rule book under 9.8.1 states bla,,,bla,,,bla. A replay MAY be declared when: a. A referee's inadvertent whistle or a timer's audio signal INTERRUPTS play;

Caps for MY emphasis. The whistle did not make the server serve into the net...

You have to read the casebook. The rule book has lots of pitfalls....and (my soap box) and there are several quirky things that could be improved.

Last edited by oldsetter; Sat Aug 30, 2014 at 08:00am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2014, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Here is a closely related question from the IHSA (Illinois) test. NFHS Rules.

Team A's #10 serves the ball. At the moment of serve, the R2 whistles an illegal alignment on Team B. The served ball does not cross the net. It is then discovered that Team B players were legally aligned. What is the official's ruling?

A. Replay
B. Point for Team A
C. Net serve by Team A and Team B is awarded a point/loss of rally.
D. None of the above.


Here is my issue with this question:

If the R2 whistled at the exact moment of the serve (server's hand was still contacting the ball when the whistle sounded), an argument could be made that the whistle interfered with the server's action. Thus, a replay (A) should be awarded.

However, if the server had already completed her contact with the ball when the whistle sounded, I would rule a net serve (C).

Fortunately, this was not one of the 25 questions I had to answer on my individual test. Have any Illinois officials on this forum had to answer this question? One test question has already been thrown out because it was worded so poorly. I am wondering what answer the state is accepting as correct for this question.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2014, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
So your issue is with a poorly worded question, not the rule. I feel ya' brother. At least we know the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2014, 01:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Menifee,CA
Posts: 860
Here the exam is looked over with a fine tooth comb and our IC will edit wording of questions he feels aren't clear enough.Sometimes no matter how much editing goes on a question just doesn't make sense and they give it to us as a freebee.Sometimes I wonder when the last time the people writing the exam set foot on a volleyball court.
__________________
Derryl Trujillo
Official Scorekeeper-Woodcrest Christian High School Basketball
Referee-Inland Volleyball Officials Association
The golfing volleyball ref and official scorekeeper
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2014, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 771
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbsbvb83 View Post
Here is a closely related question from the IHSA (Illinois) test. NFHS Rules.

Team A's #10 serves the ball. At the moment of serve, the R2 whistles an illegal alignment on Team B. The served ball does not cross the net. It is then discovered that Team B players were legally aligned. What is the official's ruling?

A. Replay
B. Point for Team A
C. Net serve by Team A and Team B is awarded a point/loss of rally.
D. None of the above.


Here is my issue with this question:

If the R2 whistled at the exact moment of the serve (server's hand was still contacting the ball when the whistle sounded), an argument could be made that the whistle interfered with the server's action. Thus, a replay (A) should be awarded.

However, if the server had already completed her contact with the ball when the whistle sounded, I would rule a net serve (C).

Fortunately, this was not one of the 25 questions I had to answer on my individual test. Have any Illinois officials on this forum had to answer this question? One test question has already been thrown out because it was worded so poorly. I am wondering what answer the state is accepting as correct for this question.
The correct answer is still a net serve. I had this question on my exam and got it correct.

For you to rule replay, you'd have to find a way to act as if the whistle was the reason the serve didn't clear the net. Also, the question doesn't say "exact moment," it just says moment. Don't read too much into it.

It's an incorrect/inadvertent whistle that had no affect on the result of the play. For it to have, the referee would have had to start the whistle before the contact of serve, the sound travel to the server, who then would have to interpret that the whistle means stop, etc. Don't look for trouble or more than what's there.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need 2 Rulings! TheTedP Basketball 19 Fri Mar 02, 2007 04:15pm
2nd IT Rulings? oksportofficial Wrestling 4 Fri Dec 08, 2006 08:40pm
Same play, different rulings--MLB gsf23 Baseball 10 Mon Aug 01, 2005 05:34pm
NFHS rulings Storm Softball 4 Tue Apr 27, 2004 07:33pm
Two Rulings by a Coach whiskers_ump Softball 2 Mon Apr 22, 2002 03:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1