The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
2 out of 3 correct. The one you missed is one I likely would have missed as well. I will see if anyone else answers before I give the correct answers.
#2 - illegal alignment is determined at the moment of contact of the serve per 6-4-3-b, so the R2's immediate whistle of the fault is correct
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 769
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
2 is just a missed serve. Inadvertent whistle did not affect play in this case.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2014, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
Wink

Or to rephrase it: The inadvertent whistle did not cause the serve to become a fault. Loss of rally.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 12:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsetter View Post
Or to rephrase it: The inadvertent whistle did not cause the serve to become a fault. Loss of rally.
My bad... in re-reading sit #2 it is apparently saying that the R2 realized after they whistled for illegal alignment and the coach questioned the call, that team R wasn't actually out of alignment.

In this case, the proper ruling is replay. Per 9-3-3-k the ball becomes dead when a referee's whistle sounds. anything that happens after the ball is dead, i.e. the serve fails to legally cross the net as in the example, is irrelevant.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!

Last edited by TimTaylor; Thu Aug 28, 2014 at 12:49am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 769
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor View Post
In this case, the proper ruling is replay. Per 9-3-3-k the ball becomes dead when a referee's whistle sounds. anything that happens after the ball is dead, i.e. the serve fails to legally cross the net as in the example, is irrelevant.
No. Inadvertent whistle. Did not affect the serve going into the net. Therefore, we proceed as if there was no whistle. Service fault, point to the receiving team. NOT a replay!
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2014, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Correct answer. #2 is a loss of rally from the serve into the net. The whistle for an illegal alignment was an inadvertent whistle, HOWEVER it never impact the result of the play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need 2 Rulings! TheTedP Basketball 19 Fri Mar 02, 2007 04:15pm
2nd IT Rulings? oksportofficial Wrestling 4 Fri Dec 08, 2006 08:40pm
Same play, different rulings--MLB gsf23 Baseball 10 Mon Aug 01, 2005 05:34pm
NFHS rulings Storm Softball 4 Tue Apr 27, 2004 07:33pm
Two Rulings by a Coach whiskers_ump Softball 2 Mon Apr 22, 2002 03:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1