The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 29, 2009, 01:08pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Bob, R2 is guilty of incorrect procedure...see page 134 of the current NCAA Rules starting with the 7th paragraph.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jenkins
What would I do if #4 entered for #11 improperly, but didn't serve (but I noticed and neither R did)?
Same procedure: as soon as you notice the illegal sub, notify the R2. If it is while the player is subbing in, it is a Team Delay sanction (TDW if no previous delay during the set, TDP [Red Card] if they have already been assessed a TDW). Make sure you record the info in the Sanctions box.

If you catch it during play, notify the R2 at the conclusion of the rally because the team will be assessed a LOR for having an illegal player on the court. You will record the info in the Comments section. #4 must leave the court and #11 must reenter or #4 may legally sub in for #11.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 29, 2009, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Does all of this apply to FED?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 30, 2009, 12:09am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Bishop...NO...this thread is all about NCAA scoring, not NFHS. Ya gotta read, son, ya gotta read, I say (in my best Foghorn Leghorn voice).
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 30, 2009, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Foggy

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Bishop...NO...this thread is all about NCAA scoring, not NFHS. Ya gotta read, son, ya gotta read, I say (in my best Foghorn Leghorn voice).
I said, I said....Thank ya.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 30, 2009, 02:35pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Bob, since the Libero did not serve for a legal server, unless she has previously served in the set, she is considered not to have served at all - so she is tied to neither - and is free to serve for any legal server.

1 - In your scenario, since the Libero is serving for a wrong server, you will NOT triangle the Serving Order Number on service contact.
2 - You will put a square with an R on the service line of the proper server.
3 - You will enter 12/11 in the WS column of the Sanctions box, designate Team A or B and enter the score.
4 - Finally, you will slash the next point in the opponent's running score column and enter the LOR point in the serving area for the next server.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 30, 2009, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Bob, since the Libero did not serve for a legal server, unless she has previously served in the set, she is considered not to have served at all - so she is tied to neither - and is free to serve for any legal server.
oops -- then we got that one wrong. We did record it in the wrong server section, and recorded the P inside the square. But, R2 indicated that the libero was now tied to serving in the first serving spot (#12's spot).

Fortunately, it didn't matter -- that's where the team wanted the libero to serve.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 11:41pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Thumbs down

Bob, how the devil are we to contact you as a moderator when:
Quote:
bob jenkins has chosen not to receive private messages or may not be allowed to receive private messages. Therefore you may not send your message to him/her.
?????
We need a way to report spam and I don't find anything. HELP!

I tried to send the following to you:
Please block and remove spam posted by KnoniaSon on the volleyball and testing forums.
Jan
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 30, 2009, 07:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Bob, R2 is guilty of incorrect procedure...see page 134 of the current NCAA Rules starting with the 7th paragraph.
Thanks -- I couldn't find that during a quick perusal between matches the other night.

One more from yesterday:

Libero #2 enters for #11 n the back row and proceeds to serve. But, it's #12's turn to serve. (#12 is still in the lineup).

So, obviously a wrong server.

But, is the libero now tied to the serving position of #11 or #12?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scorekeeping/APOB Drew Basketball 8 Mon Jan 12, 2009 03:02pm
Scorekeeping issues dkmz17 Basketball 14 Fri Feb 09, 2007 08:44am
scorekeeping.... chris s Softball 0 Sun Jun 15, 2003 12:03am
Scorekeeping whiskers_ump Softball 4 Wed Jul 18, 2001 12:26am
Scorekeeping oppool Softball 15 Thu May 10, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1