![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I agree with the R1. Allow the coach to withdraw the request since it was based on what she believed was a LOR to her team. When the R1 decided to replay, that extenuates the request.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
|
|||
|
I had a situation (NCAA DII) last week where I (R1) overruled the line-judge on my line and the receiving team on my left had witnessed the LJ make the out call and I had it clearly in. They had sent a sub forward and I allowed them to withdraw it quickly, resume play.
__________________
John |
|
|||
|
While this occurred in a NFHS match (actually Junior High) it is towards the same topic. Small jr high gym with backboards and their supports over playable area behind the end line. It was almost over the court. Anyway we cover this during pregame coaches and captains conf. We have a ball after first contact go all the way back almost hitting the wall. The ball is coming down, two players are awaiting its return and it hits a support. I call for a replay. Nothing said by either team or coaches. After the game some mommy comes over and is questioning the call. I explain that we went over it in pregame with the coaches and that due to their location that the backboards were in playable area. She comments that the team should not be rewarded for making a bad first hit. Seeing no end in sight I finish with we are always looking for new officials, if you give me an email address I will forward you a copy of the next class schedule. ......silence
|
|
|||
|
If the R2 doesn't recognize the sub and ther players exchange, R2 should call them back, execute the sub while informing them that further exchanges without recognition would result in UD and a refusal to allow the sub.
__________________
John |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Changing your mind | Trap | Football | 9 | Tue Sep 26, 2006 07:50am |
| Man in Motion - Mind Check | CruiseMan | Football | 5 | Tue Sep 12, 2006 02:27pm |
| Obstruction change of mind | debeau | Softball | 3 | Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:02am |
| Mind if I lurk? | LarryS | Basketball | 6 | Thu Nov 04, 2004 07:13am |
| Am I losing my mind? | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 9 | Sun Nov 18, 2001 08:55pm |