![]() |
Change of mind on substitution?
NCAA rules, please.
This happened today. I was R2 during a varsity match. We had low-hanging basketball backboards at each end of the volleyball court. Team A's first hit contacts the backboard. Team B coach assumes that she has won the rally and sends a sub into the substitution area and says, "Sub!" R1 signals "replay" because he feels that Team A could have played the ball that hit the backboard. Now Team B coach doesn't want to send the sub in. Should we have: a) required her complete the substitution since she already made the request? b) allow her to withdraw the sub but charge an improper request? c) allow her to withdraw the sub without an improper request? d) done something else? Thanks. BTW, the R1 chose (c). |
I'd choose C. Clearly the result of a mind change, cleared up quickly, no IR or TDW necessary.
|
I agree with the R1. Allow the coach to withdraw the request since it was based on what she believed was a LOR to her team. When the R1 decided to replay, that extenuates the request.
|
I had a situation (NCAA DII) last week where I (R1) overruled the line-judge on my line and the receiving team on my left had witnessed the LJ make the out call and I had it clearly in. They had sent a sub forward and I allowed them to withdraw it quickly, resume play.
|
While this occurred in a NFHS match (actually Junior High) it is towards the same topic. Small jr high gym with backboards and their supports over playable area behind the end line. It was almost over the court. Anyway we cover this during pregame coaches and captains conf. We have a ball after first contact go all the way back almost hitting the wall. The ball is coming down, two players are awaiting its return and it hits a support. I call for a replay. Nothing said by either team or coaches. After the game some mommy comes over and is questioning the call. I explain that we went over it in pregame with the coaches and that due to their location that the backboards were in playable area. She comments that the team should not be rewarded for making a bad first hit. Seeing no end in sight I finish with we are always looking for new officials, if you give me an email address I will forward you a copy of the next class schedule. ......silence
|
Could I get clarification for this (NCAA) ?
Does the Ump/R2 need to recognize the sub before authorization for substitution or nearly the scorekeeper making the appropriate changes? |
If the R2 doesn't recognize the sub and ther players exchange, R2 should call them back, execute the sub while informing them that further exchanges without recognition would result in UD and a refusal to allow the sub. :rolleyes:
|
Quote:
|
Thanks, you are correct.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52pm. |