The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 09, 2022, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,735
Multiple re-Serves

Another attempt at generating discussion:

#8 serves five straight points during which time, a re-serve is allowed. #4 enters and serves two points. #8 re-enters. #8 does not like the first toss and lets the ball fall. Are they awarded a re -serve?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2022, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 52
No. Each player only gets one re-serve for team's term of service.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2022, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
No. Each player only gets one re-serve for team's term of service.
Yes, but a player's term of service ends when a substitute is made for that player. So, when #8 returns, does that begin a new player's term of service for him? (Just explaining the discussion that we had)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2022, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, but a player's term of service ends when a substitute is made for that player. So, when #8 returns, does that begin a new player's term of service for him? (Just explaining the discussion that we had)
Yes, a new player term of service would be begin when she subbed back in but she would not be entitled to another re-serve since re-serves are limited by the TEAM's term of service, not PLAYER's term of service (8.1.5)

I will say I have never seen this scenario (sub out while serving then sub back and continue serving) in in my 18 years of officiating but it is interesting "keep us on our toes" discussion!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2022, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
Yes, a new player term of service would be begin when she subbed back in but she would not be entitled to another re-serve since re-serves are limited by the TEAM's term of service, not PLAYER's term of service (8.1.5)

I will say I have never seen this scenario (sub out while serving then sub back and continue serving) in in my 18 years of officiating but it is interesting "keep us on our toes" discussion!
Yes, but does #8 become a new "player" for this rule when s/he re-enters?

(FWIW, I agree with your interp and would NOT allow the re-serve)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2022, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, but does #8 become a new "player" for this rule when s/he re-enters?

(FWIW, I agree with your interp and would NOT allow the re-serve)
I would not consider her to be a "new player" since she is occupying the same spot in the serving order and she is the same person wearing the same number as when the roster was submitted prior to the match.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tracking re-serves BlitzkriegBob Volleyball 7 Sun Oct 05, 2008 09:11am
Libero serves in multiple rotation spots Back In The Saddle Volleyball 6 Tue Oct 30, 2007 05:47pm
Overhand passes on serves and hits wildcatksu Volleyball 1 Mon Sep 18, 2006 01:15pm
Multiple T's BoomerSooner Basketball 6 Fri Feb 27, 2004 01:53am
Re-serves DncnRef Volleyball 2 Sun Dec 08, 2002 03:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1