The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Multiple re-Serves (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/105730-multiple-re-serves.html)

bob jenkins Mon May 09, 2022 01:56pm

Multiple re-Serves
 
Another attempt at generating discussion:

#8 serves five straight points during which time, a re-serve is allowed. #4 enters and serves two points. #8 re-enters. #8 does not like the first toss and lets the ball fall. Are they awarded a re -serve?

genetoy71 Tue May 10, 2022 07:50am

No. Each player only gets one re-serve for team's term of service.

bob jenkins Tue May 10, 2022 08:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by genetoy71 (Post 1048144)
No. Each player only gets one re-serve for team's term of service.

Yes, but a player's term of service ends when a substitute is made for that player. So, when #8 returns, does that begin a new player's term of service for him? (Just explaining the discussion that we had)

genetoy71 Tue May 10, 2022 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048146)
Yes, but a player's term of service ends when a substitute is made for that player. So, when #8 returns, does that begin a new player's term of service for him? (Just explaining the discussion that we had)

Yes, a new player term of service would be begin when she subbed back in but she would not be entitled to another re-serve since re-serves are limited by the TEAM's term of service, not PLAYER's term of service (8.1.5)

I will say I have never seen this scenario (sub out while serving then sub back and continue serving) in in my 18 years of officiating but it is interesting "keep us on our toes" discussion!

bob jenkins Tue May 10, 2022 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by genetoy71 (Post 1048148)
Yes, a new player term of service would be begin when she subbed back in but she would not be entitled to another re-serve since re-serves are limited by the TEAM's term of service, not PLAYER's term of service (8.1.5)

I will say I have never seen this scenario (sub out while serving then sub back and continue serving) in in my 18 years of officiating but it is interesting "keep us on our toes" discussion!

Yes, but does #8 become a new "player" for this rule when s/he re-enters?

(FWIW, I agree with your interp and would NOT allow the re-serve)

genetoy71 Wed May 11, 2022 07:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1048154)
Yes, but does #8 become a new "player" for this rule when s/he re-enters?

(FWIW, I agree with your interp and would NOT allow the re-serve)

I would not consider her to be a "new player" since she is occupying the same spot in the serving order and she is the same person wearing the same number as when the roster was submitted prior to the match.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1