The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 16, 2021, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 751
Double contact on 1 hit

We have all seen on the 1st ball over the net a Hand/Hand, Arm/Arm and Arm/Chest double contact as legal contact. I observed a Chest/Arm double contact that WAS NOT a Lift. The official ruled 2-Hits.
Does hitting the Chest 1st negate any chance that a double contact can be valid?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 17, 2021, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 651
Imo

The play that you saw was ruled incorrectly, IMO. Rule 9-4-8b says that multiple contacts by a single player on the first hit are legal.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 17, 2021, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
We have all seen on the 1st ball over the net a Hand/Hand, Arm/Arm and Arm/Chest double contact as legal contact. I observed a Chest/Arm double contact that WAS NOT a Lift. The official ruled 2-Hits.
Does hitting the Chest 1st negate any chance that a double contact can be valid?
Can't say without seeing video. It's possible that the first attempt resulted in the ball hitting the chest and the player made a separate attempt that was hit with the arm. That would be two hits.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 17, 2021, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Can't say without seeing video. It's possible that the first attempt resulted in the ball hitting the chest and the player made a separate attempt that was hit with the arm. That would be two hits.
The play was NOT 2 separate attempts. When we discussed the play, he ruled the play from the chest eliminated the chance of a legal double contact play
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2021, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
he ruled the play from the chest eliminated the chance of a legal double contact play
That ruling is incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 20, 2021, 10:14am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
he ruled the play from the chest eliminated the chance of a legal double contact play
I'd be real interested in hearing the rationale for that ruling. . .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 20, 2021, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I'd be real interested in hearing the rationale for that ruling. . .
I respectively disagreed with him. He could not find anything in the Rules Book to support his claim. I was not about to debate with him, it was not going to change his opinion.
Thus I brought the post to this site.
Everybody, thanks for your replies
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 20, 2021, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
That's one of the ways we learn the rules. I know I've learned my share only after kicking the ruling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Technical or False Double? ref3808 Basketball 13 Wed Jan 16, 2013 03:37am
Double Foul-Double Tech AHSAA_Ref Basketball 3 Mon Dec 06, 2010 03:57pm
Double Foul and Double Technical routhless Basketball 10 Sat Jan 30, 2010 09:53am
When is hair contact a contact? OmniSpiker Volleyball 6 Tue Nov 04, 2008 06:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1