The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 11, 2019, 12:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,142
Service Question

I had the following situation brought up to me and I have heard different interpretations as to how to handle it.

NFHS Rules - In both cases, the server has not been granted a re-serve.

S1 is serving. After the whistle she bounces the ball three times, then serves. All within the 5 second window.

The next time she is serving, she does the same thing, but on the third bounce, the ball bounces away from her. What's the ruling? Is it a 5 second violation, or does the R1 grant a re-serve? I have heard from two different trainers two different answers.

The only thing close I can find in the casebook (from 2016-2017), but I think the same situation is in the book is 8-1-6 Situation B (e). The player tosses the ball for serve, but does not swing and the ball hits her knee - ruling re-serve.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 11, 2019, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 614
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
I had the following situation brought up to me and I have heard different interpretations as to how to handle it.

NFHS Rules - In both cases, the server has not been granted a re-serve.

S1 is serving. After the whistle she bounces the ball three times, then serves. All within the 5 second window.

The next time she is serving, she does the same thing, but on the third bounce, the ball bounces away from her. What's the ruling? Is it a 5 second violation, or does the R1 grant a re-serve? I have heard from two different trainers two different answers.

The only thing close I can find in the casebook (from 2016-2017), but I think the same situation is in the book is 8-1-6 Situation B (e). The player tosses the ball for serve, but does not swing and the ball hits her knee - ruling re-serve.
A re-serve involves a toss for service, which seems to be missing in this scenario.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 14, 2019, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 58
There was no attempt to serve the ball. Bouncing it on the ground is not an attempt to serve so it is a 5 second violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lip Service? (Video) Mark Padgett Football 1 Sun Jan 25, 2015 09:11pm
Pressed Into Service just another ref Basketball 12 Tue Jan 22, 2013 09:52am
Customer Service ?????? Multiple Sports Basketball 33 Mon May 09, 2011 10:52am
OT - community service Mark Padgett Basketball 6 Fri Jan 23, 2009 08:36am
What is a "service check?" williebfree Volleyball 1 Thu Aug 23, 2001 02:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1